OER (Open Educational Resources) Librarian/ Associate Professor
Maria Taylor
she/her
Contact:
Office: Hutchins Library 221
CPO LIB
Hutchins Library
Berea College
Berea, KY 40404
CPO LIB
Hutchins Library
Berea College
Berea, KY 40404
859.985.3276
Website
Attribution
This page was adapted from "Open Educational Resources (OER)" by Abbey Elder which is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
OASIS
Find Open Textbooks
The following resources can be used to locate high quality open textbooks in a variety of subject areas. Most of these resources also provide evaluative information about the textbooks they contain, such as faculty reviews.
- Open Textbook LibraryThe Open Textbook Library provides an easy-to-use interface for locating and evaluating OER. Along with peer-reviewed textbooks, the OTL provides reviews from faculty who have adopted their texts for courses.
- OpenStaxOpenStax is one of the most popular OER repositories in use today, and provides textbooks for college as well as high school AP courses.
- Pressbooks DirectoryA directory of all the books (textbooks, handbooks, and other text-based media) published on Pressbooks, a popular OER-authoring tool.
- LibreTextsCreated by UC Davis with the support of Dept of Education grants, LibreTexts contains open textbooks and other OER in subjects like Chemistry, Biology, Nutrition, Music Theory, Physics, Agriculture, and more!
- BCCampus Open CollectionThe British Columbia Campus Consortium's OER repository, BCCampus OpenEd collects textbooks from a variety of resources, including the books housed in OpenStax and others.
- OASISAn integrated search tool by SUNY. Contains over 300,000 records
- Milne Open TextbooksContaining openly-licensed, peer-reviewed textbooks from the State University of New York, SUNY Open Textbooks provides open textbooks as well as consultation services for faculty interested in adopting or creating OER.
Find Open Educational Resources
Other open educational resources (syllabi, course handouts, lesson plans, etc) can be found in the following OER repositories. Some, like OER Commons, contain open textbooks as well as other course materials.
- OER CommonsThe Open Educational Resources (OER) Commons currently includes open educational materials in broad subject areas. Materials include lesson plans, textbooks, activities, assessments, readings, and more.
- Galileo Open Learning MaterialsIncludes open textbooks & ancillary materials
- Open Oregon Educational ResourcesThis page lists course materials that Oregon community college and university instructors are using to reduce textbook costs in their courses. Includes ancillaries.
- eCampus Ontario H5P CatalogA catalog of interactive open content created and cataloged by faculty at Ontario-based postsecondary institutions. H5P content can be embedded into a website as self-study materials for students and other fun activities.
- LibreTexts StudioSearch for H5P resources created by the LibreTexts Community
- PhET Interactive SimulationsIncludes “interactive simulations for science and math.” Can be useful for mathematics, physics, engineering, and other subjects.
- QUBESThe QUBES platform hosts hundreds of teaching materials, reference materials, and cloud-based software free to use and adapt. The focus is on STEM resources.
- Skills CommonsA growing repository of materials developed by Federal TAACCCT Grant recipient colleges. Includes these industries: Construction; Agriculture, Forestry, Fishing & Hunting; Educational Services; Health Care & Social Assistance; Administrative & Support Services; Repair & Maintenance; Manufacturing, and others!
- MIT OpenCourseWareA web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content, OpenCourseWare is open, available globally, and a permanent MIT activity.
