Subscribe to Open Berea News
- Open Berea NewsFind out more about faculty development opportunities related to open education!
Contact the OER Librarian about your specific course!
Maria Taylor
she/her
Contact:
Office: Hutchins Library 221
CPO LIB
Hutchins Library
Berea College
Berea, KY 40404
CPO LIB
Hutchins Library
Berea College
Berea, KY 40404
859.985.3276
Website
Political Science
- OpenStax Introduction to Political ScienceOpenStax Introduction to Political Science provides a strong foundation in global political systems, exploring how and why political realities unfold. Rich with examples of individual and national social action, this text emphasizes students’ role in the political sphere and equips them to be active and informed participants in civil society.
- OpenStax American Government 3eProvides a logical progression from the fundamental principles of institutional design at the founding, to avenues of political participation, to thorough coverage of the political structures that constitute American government.
- America: The User’s Manual - Third EditionThis is a free textbook written for introductory undergraduate courses in American politics.
- International Relations TheoryThis book is designed as a foundational entry point to International Relations theory – structured to condense the most important information into the smallest space and present that information in an accessible manner. The first half of the book covers the theories that are most commonly taught in undergraduate programs. The book then expands to present emerging approaches and offer wider perspectives.
- Introduction to Comparative Government and Politics - 1st editionThe textbook is organized thematically and includes chapters that cover a wide range of topics in comparative politics: how and what comparativists study; methods in comparative politics; states and regimes; democracies and democratization; non-democracies and democratic backsliding, political identity, collective action and social movements; comparative public opinion; political violence; and globalization and fragmentation.
- Comparative Politics: A Practical Guide for a Globalizing WorldComparative Politics: A Practical Guide for a Globalizing World is perhaps the first to be written with an emphasis on case studies from the Global South and other alternative perspectives in comparative politics.
- A Casebook for Comparative PoliticsThis book is intended to serve as a companion text for courses in Comparative Politics, Introduction to Political Science, and similar subjects. Each chapter constitutes a single country (case), with material on seven (7) major topics: History, Identity, Culture and Civil Society, Participation, Formal Institutions, Political Economy, and Foreign Relations.
- OPoliSciOPoliSci explores open educational resources and practices for political science faculty and students.
Research Methods
- Introduction to Political Science Research Methods - 1st EditionThe textbook includes chapters that cover: history and development of the empirical study of politics; the scientific method; theories, hypotheses, variables, and units; conceptualization, operationalization and measurement of political concepts; elements of research design including the logic of sampling; qualitative and quantitative research methods and means of analysis; and research ethics.
- Quantitative Research Methods for Political Science, Public Policy and Public Administration - 3rd EditionThe focus of this book is on using quantitative research methods to test hypotheses and build theory in political science, public policy and public administration.
Other Topics in Political Science
- Principles of Political Economy - Third EditionThis text contains many of the same topics as mainstream textbooks, but it includes and takes very seriously heterodox critiques and alternatives to the mainstream approach to economics.
- Open Judicial Politics - 2nd EditionOpen Judicial Politics is a compilation of new and original research in judicial politics written specifically for the undergraduate audience, thus providing accessible examples of political science research that also address some of the more current concerns and controversies in our field.
- Government Powers and Limitations - 1st EditionThis volume focuses on constitutional doctrine and law in the areas of government powers and limitations. It includes excerpts of landmark cases related to the judiciary and executive, contracts and takings clauses, and due process.
