Subscribe to Open Berea News
- Open Berea NewsFind out more about faculty development opportunities related to open education!
Contact the OER Librarian about your specific course!
Maria Taylor
she/her
Contact:
Office: Hutchins Library 221
CPO LIB
Hutchins Library
Berea College
Berea, KY 40404
CPO LIB
Hutchins Library
Berea College
Berea, KY 40404
859.985.3276
Website
Click on the topic below to access a list of OER.
OER @ Berea
- PhET Interactive SimulationsIncludes “interactive simulations for science and math.” Can be useful for mathematics, physics, engineering, and other subjects.
Biology Resources
- OpenStax Biology 2nd EditionBiology is designed to cover the scope and sequence requirements of a typical two-semester biology course for science majors. The text provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens.
- OpenStax Concepts of BiologyConcepts of Biology is designed for the typical introductory biology course for nonmajors, covering standard scope and sequence requirements. The text includes interesting applications and conveys the major themes of biology, with content that is meaningful and easy to understand. The book is designed to demonstrate biology concepts and to promote scientific literacy.
- Biology I Laboratory ManualThis set of Biology I lab assignments ensures students have the opportunity to apply the concepts and information they learn as they work through Biology I course content. Content includes lab assignments for students, as well as Instructor Materials Preparation for each lab with detailed lists of what faculty members need for each lab.
- Principles of Biology I Lab Manual (Burran and DesRochers)This introductory biology lab manual covers introductory topics for a general education biology course, from the scientific method through microscopy, photosynthesis, and biotechnology.
- General Microbiology, 1st EditionWelcome to the wonderful world of microbiology! In this textbook the focus will be on the bacteria and archaea (traditionally known as the “prokaryotes,”) and the viruses and other acellular agents.
- OpenStax MicrobiologyMicrobiology covers the scope and sequence requirements for a single-semester microbiology course for non-majors. The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health.
- Microbiology 201This textbook is an adaptation of OpenStax Microbiology intended to support a single-semester course for non-majors.
- MicrobiologyThis Microbiology textbook, adapted from the Boundless version, is intended to provide health care professionals with a working knowledge of infectious disease. Much of the book is devoted to the structure/function relationships in pathogenic microorganisms and how these relationships are expressed in host-parasite interactions. Comes with accompanying lab manual.
- Microbiology: A Laboratory ExperienceThis text provides a series of laboratory exercises compatible with a one-semester undergraduate microbiology or bacteriology course with a three- or four-hour lab period that meets once or twice a week. The design of the lab manual conforms to the American Society for Microbiology curriculum guidelines and takes a ground-up approach — beginning with an introduction to biosafety and containment practices and how to work with biological hazards.
- Microbiomes: Health and the EnvironmentThis book not only provides content from the latest microbiome studies, but contains interactive tools, videos, and thought-provoking questions to help the reader hone and truly understand the respective topic. Though there is much overlap between themes due to the ubiquitous nature of microbes, the book is broken down into sections pertaining to both human health and aspects of the environment influenced by microbes.
- OpenStax Anatomy and Physiology 2eAnatomy and Physiology 2e is developed to meet the scope and sequence for a two-semester human anatomy and physiology course for life science and allied health majors. The book is organized by body systems.
- Human AnatomyThe purpose of this textbook is to serve as a resource for students who are taking a first semester human anatomy course. All efforts were made to ensure the material covered in this resource is consistent, accurate, and accessible. This material was also designed to be equitable, diverse, and inclusive.
- An Interactive Introduction to Organismal and Molecular Biology, 2nd edThe first unit introduces students to the nature of science, including how to analyze literature and identify stakeholders. Unit 2 is on organismal biology, including carbon cycling and population growth, and Unit 3 is molecular biology with a focus on gene expression.
- Cell and Molecular Biology: What We Know & How We Found Out - 5eCMB5e is available in three versions: a basic version; an Annotated version which adds pre-written, interactive context-embedded Challenge boxes to the Basic version of the book; an Instructor's version which adds a series of 25 Words or Less essay questions that the author used as short (i.e., easy to grade!) writing assignments to strengthen student’s critical thinking and writing skills.
- Fundamentals of Cell BiologyThis textbook is focused specifically on the principles and concepts of a foundational Cell Biology course.It takes a more conceptual approach that highlights how scientists study cells, and how to analyze and interpret experimental results.
- Introduction to NeuroscienceThis text is designed for undergraduate students enrolled in introductory neuroscience courses. This book specifically targets students enrolled in Introduction to Neuroscience 1 and Introduction to Neuroscience 2 at Michigan State University and primarily contains topics covered in those courses.
- Environmental BiologyThis college-level open textbook covers the most salient environmental issues from a biological perspective.
Open Image Collections
- NIH BioArt SourceBuild figures, presentations, and illustrations with 2,000+ science and medical art visuals.
“The illustrations and content provided on the NIH BIOART Source are free for any use, including educational, research, informational, and commercial purposes. If the entry is licensed as ‘Public Domain’ citation is appreciated but not required (See ‘How to Cite Entries in NIH BioArt Source’). For licenses that require attribution (eg. CC-BY) we recommend using the entry DOI (should it be available) as well as the NIH BioArt Source citation style.” - NIH 3DAn open, community-driven portal to download, share, and create bioscientific and medical 3D models for 3D printing and interactive 3D visualization, including virtual and augmented reality.
