Subscribe to Open Berea News
- Open Berea NewsFind out more about faculty development opportunities related to open education!
Contact the OER Librarian about your specific course!
Maria Taylor
she/her
Contact:
Office: Hutchins Library 221
CPO LIB
Hutchins Library
Berea College
Berea, KY 40404
CPO LIB
Hutchins Library
Berea College
Berea, KY 40404
859.985.3276
Website
Economics
Microeconomics
- OpenStax Principles of Microeconomics 3eThe text includes many current examples, which are handled in a politically equitable way. The outcome is a balanced approach to the theory and application of economics concepts. The second edition has been thoroughly revised to increase clarity, update data and current event impacts, and incorporate the feedback from many reviewers and adopters.
- Principles of MicroenomicsMicroeconomics by D.Curtis and I. Irvine provides concise yet complete coverage of introductory microeconomics theory, application and policy. The textbook begins with an explanation and development of the standard tools of analysis in the discipline and carries on to investigate the meaning of ‘well-being’ in the context of an efficient use of the economy’s resources.
- University of Hawaii MicroeconomicsA heavily revised version of OpenStax Principles of Microeconomics 2nd Edition.
- Models in Microeconomic TheoryThis book covers basic models in current microeconomic theory. It focuses on the concepts of model and equilibrium. It states models and results precisely, and provides proofs for all results. It uses only elementary mathematics (with almost no calculus), although many of the proofs involve sustained logical arguments. It includes about 150 exercises.
- Intermediate Microeconomics with Excel (2nd Edition)This book is based on the idea that there is a particular framework used by economists to interpret observed reality. This framework has been called the economic way of thinking, the economic approach, and the method of economics. The second edition has additional content and updated screenshots and instructions for Excel 2019, but remains compatible with older versions of Excel.
Macroeconomics
- OpenStax Principles of Macroeconomics 3eThe text includes many current examples, which are handled in a politically equitable way. The outcome is a balanced approach to the theory and application of economics concepts. The second edition has been thoroughly revised to increase clarity, update data and current event impacts, and incorporate the feedback from many reviewers and adopters.
- Principles of Macroeconomics: LyryxThis text presents a complete and concise examination of introductory macroeconomics theory and policy suitable for a first introductory course. Examples are domestic and international in their subject matter and are of the modern era -- financial markets, monetary and fiscal policies aimed at inflation and debt control, globalization and the importance of trade flows in economic structure, and concerns about slow growth and the risk of deflation, are included.
- Principles of Macroeconomic LiteracyPrinciples of Macroeconomic Literacy emphasizes basic economic concepts such as value and cost in developing macroeconomic ideas. Besides the economics of Adam Smith, Freidrich Hayek, and Milton Friedman, the text applies the work of James Buchanan in discussing how ideal policies will never be ideally applied by self-interested politicians with limited knowledge.
Other Topics
- OpenStax Principles of FinanceProvides a strong foundation in financial applications using an innovative use-case approach to explore their role in business decision-making. An array of financial calculator and downloadable Microsoft Excel data exercises also engage students in experiential learning throughout.
- OpenStax Introductory Business Statistics 2eAligns with the topics and objectives of the typical one-semester statistics course for business, economics, and related majors.
- OpenStax Principles of Economics 3rd EditionThe text includes many current examples, which are handled in a politically equitable way. The outcome is a balanced approach to the theory and application of economics concepts. The second edition has been thoroughly revised to increase clarity, update data and current event impacts, and incorporate the feedback from many reviewers and adopters.
- Principles of Political EconomyThe purpose of this text is to teach students about alternative schools of economic thought but also to deepen their understanding of the dominant, neoclassical approach to economics. In this sense, it draws a great deal of inspiration from Richard Wolff and Stephen Resnick’s Contending Economic Theories. Following Wolff and Resnick, an even broader objective is to teach students that economics is a discourse and that no single voice can rightfully claim to have a monopoly on the truth about economics.
- Core Econ CollectionAn open-access platform for anyone who wants to understand the economics of innovation, inequality, environmental sustainability, and more
- Crash Course Economics [YouTube]Introductory videos aligned to major topics covered in economics courses.
Business
- Fundamentals of Business (4th Edition)The textbook was designed for use in Virginia Tech’s Pamplin College of Business introductory level business course, MGT1104 Foundations of Business.
- OpenStax Introduction to BusinessThis text provides detailed explanations in the context of core themes such as customer satisfaction, ethics, entrepreneurship, global business, and managing change. Introduction to Business includes hundreds of current business examples from a range of industries and geographic locations, which feature a variety of individuals.
- OpenStax Business EthicsBusiness Ethics is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the single-semester business ethics course. This title includes innovative features designed to enhance student learning, including case studies, application scenarios, and links to video interviews with executives, all of which help instill in students a sense of ethical awareness and responsibility.
- OpenStax Business Law I: EssentialsBusiness Law I Essentials is a brief introductory textbook designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of courses on Business Law or the Legal Environment of Business.
- Business Communication: Five Core CompetenciesThis book is designed to help undergraduate students and business professionals develop competence and build confidence in their business writing skills. It focuses on five core competencies in business writing: being professional, clear, concise, evidence-driven, and persuasive.
- Business Math: A Step-by-Step HandbookBusiness professionals will work with taxes, gross earnings, product prices, and currency exchange; they will be offered loans, lines of credit, mortgages, leases, savings bonds, and other financial tools. This textbook covers all of these topics and how these financial tools can maximize their earnings and minimize their costs.
- Introduction to Consumer BehaviourThe book invites readers to examine the internal forces that shape consumer decision making, such as perceptions, motivations, personality, and attitudes as well as the external ones, such as social and situational influences, culture, and subcultures. This text centres the lived experiences of today’s consumers, specifically, undergraduate students.
- Introduction to Consumer Behaviour Ancillary ResourcesA collection of ancillary resources created to accompany the Introduction to Consumer Behaviour open textbook.
Accounting
- OpenStax Principles of Accounting Vol 1: Financial AccountingPrinciples of Accounting is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of a two-semester accounting course that covers the fundamentals of financial and managerial accounting. Due to the comprehensive nature of the material, we are offering the book in two volumes.
- OpenStax Principles of Accounting Vol 2: Managerial AccountingThis book is specifically designed to appeal to both accounting and non-accounting majors, exposing students to the core concepts of accounting in familiar ways to build a strong foundation that can be applied across business fields.
- Introduction to Financial AccountingThe text focuses on core introductory financial accounting topics that match pre-requisite requirements for students advancing to Intermediate Financial Accounting. Excluded are advanced topics that are covered in Intermediate Financial Accounting, such as leases and bond amortization.
- Intermediate Financial Accounting Vol 2This text covers all topics essential to a second level Intermediate Accounting course: current, long-term and complex liabilities, income taxes, pensions, leases, shareholders' equity, earnings per share, statement of cash flows including the direct approach, effects of changes and errors, and disclosures and analysis.
- Principles of Financial AccountingPrinciples of Financial Accounting is a needed contribution to open source pedagogy in the business education world. Instructor resources are available.
- Principles of Managerial AccountingFeatures: Peer-reviewed by academic professionals and tested by students; Over 100 charts and graphs; Instructional exercises appearing both in-text and for Excel; Resources for student professional development
Management
- OpenStax Principles of ManagementPrinciples of Management is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the introductory course on management. This is a traditional approach to management using the leading, planning, organizing, and controlling approach. Management is a broad business discipline, and the Principles of Management course covers many management areas such as human resource management and strategic management, as well behavioral areas such as motivation.
- Strategic Management (2020)This text is an adaptation of Mastering Strategic Management. It offers an introduction to the key topics and themes of strategic management. The authors draw on examples of familiar companies and personalities to illustrate the different strategies used by today’s firms—and how they go about implementing those strategies. Students will learn how to conduct a case analysis, measure organizational performance, and conduct external and internal analyses. In short, they will understand how organizations operate at the strategic level to be successful.
- Strategic Management, 2nd EditionThis open source textbook is derived from many sources, initially from the Principles of Management by Carpenter, Bauer, and Erdogan, but there is abundant new content as well.
Marketing
- OpenStax Principles of MarketingThis text is designed to meet the scope and sequence for a one-semester marketing course for undergraduate business majors and minors.
- Introduction to MarketingIntroduction to Marketing teaches the experience and process of actually doing marketing - not just the vocabulary. It carries five dominant themes throughout in order to expose students to marketing in today's environment: Service dominant logic, sustainability, ethics and social responsibility, global coverage, and metrics.
- Experiential Marketing: Collaborating with Community Partners through Live Client ProjectsThis guide is designed to provide students, instructors, and community partners with valuable insights into the immersive world of experiential learning and live client marketing.
- eMarketing: The Essential Guide to Marketing in a Digital WorldThe newly updated edition - based on Quirk's unique Think, Create, Engage, Optimise structure and processes - includes chapters on the latest marketing trends as well as updated facts and figures and all new real-world case studies showing the application of digital best practice.
- Customer-Centric StrategyCustomer centricity is about organizational transformation: making the customer the focus for business decisions, processes, product development, services, and procedures. This text includes lessons, key takeaways, exercises, and links to additional resources focusing on this topic.
- Marketing Research in PracticeA series of OER modules designed to bridge the gap between theoretical concepts and modern marketing challenges with actionable insights that can be directly applied to real-world scenarios.
Information Systems
- Information Systems for Business and Beyond (2024)Information Systems for Business and Beyond - Canadian edition introduces you to the concept of information systems, their use in business, and the larger impact they are having on our world. This book provides a Canadian context and examples, but can be adapted for other contexts.
- Information Systems: A Manager's Guide to Harnessing TechnologyThis text is intended for use in undergraduate and/or graduate courses in Management Information Systems and Information Technology. Every topic is related to specific business examples, so students gain an immediate appreciation of its importance. Rather than lead with technical topics, the book starts with strategic thinking, focusing on big-picture issues that have confounded experts but will engage students.
