Subscribe to Open Berea News
- Open Berea NewsFind out more about faculty development opportunities related to open education!
Contact the OER Librarian about your specific course!
Maria Taylor
she/her
Contact:
Office: Hutchins Library 221
CPO LIB
Hutchins Library
Berea College
Berea, KY 40404
CPO LIB
Hutchins Library
Berea College
Berea, KY 40404
859.985.3276
Website
Child & Family Studies
- Individual and Family Development, Health, and Well-beingThis book provides an overview of lifespan developmental tasks (physical, cognitive, language, social, emotional) examined from individual and family theoretical perspectives. It covers topics related to families, diversity, individual and family health and well-being, and reciprocal relationships as affected by external factors.
- Child Growth and DevelopmentThis text is a presentation of how and why children grow, develop, and learn, covering physical, cognitive, and social development.
- Lifespan Development: A Psychological PerspectiveThe textbook covers human development across the lifespan. It is presented in the chronological framework. Each chapter provides an in-depth look at that stage of development.
- Parenting and Family Diversity IssuesThis book has been created for the ISU course, HD FS 249. It supports students and all individuals who work with children and families (e.g., educators, parents, caregivers, direct support workers, etc.) in diverse contexts. It is imperative to understand how and what factors may influence child outcomes across the lifespan. Therefore, key concepts related to parenting, child-rearing, care-giving, and parenting education are outlined in this textbook to provide historical, theoretical, and practical perspectives across vast settings and developmental domains.
- Contemporary Families: An Equity Lens, 2nd editionThis openly licensed text, created with students, approaches the current status of contemporary families in the U.S. from an equity lens. It asks and answers the questions “What do families need?” and “How do society and institutions support or get in the way of families getting what they need?"
- The Whole Child: Development in the Early YearsThe Whole Child is a textbook for Child Growth and Development that is both comprehensive and concise. A strong understanding of how a young child develops allows students to develop appropriate practices in the classroom and in other places that are loving and caring spaces for young children.
- Children, Families, Schools, and CommunitiesChildren, Families, Schools, and Communities is an introductory text in the field of Child and Family Studies. It provides a lens for understanding the evolving definition of “family”. It promotes strategies for culturally sustaining and deeply collaborative relationships.
- Human Nutrition - 2020 EditionThis textbook serves as an introduction to nutrition for undergraduate students. The book covers basic concepts in human nutrition, key information about essential nutrients, basic nutritional assessment, and nutrition across the lifespan.
Other Topics
- Safety, Health, and Nutrition in Early Childhood EducationEarly childhood is a critical time in development. Many outcomes, both positive and negative, have their beginnings in these years. It is vital that children’s health and safety be protected. High-quality early care and education programs can play a valuable role in improving outcomes
for children. - Nutrition: Science and Everyday Application - Second EditionThis book is designed for introductory nutrition courses. Topics covered include basic nutrition and metabolism, information literacy, body weight and health, nutrition across life stages, dietary supplements, an in-depth look at each of the macronutrients, and major functions of vitamins and minerals.
- Basic Scientific Food Preparation Lab ManualThis lab book is intended for use in both the lab and kitchen. Each section of the book contains learning objectives, lab problems to be solved, recipes, questions, and observation charts for the input of data.
- Food Studies: Matter, Meaning, MovementFood Studies aims to help readers understand and address numerous issues within food, food culture, and food systems. These subjects transcend disciplinary boundaries and call attention to how matter, meaning, and movement produce complex and dynamic food-human realities.
- Early Childhood Literacy: Engaging and Empowering Emergent Readers and Writers, Birth – Age 5This textbook, Early Childhood Literacy: Engaging and Empowering Emergent Readers and Writers Birth-Age 5, outlines the connection between different areas of language and literacy and describes strategies for supporting development and promoting instruction. Early literacy includes reading, writing, and language development.
- Mathematics Methods for Early ChildhoodMath skills must be taught in early childhood. Children should be provided a foundation to succeed in elementary school and beyond. Teachers should focus lessons in early childhood around the basic skills that will help to advance future mathematics. From preschool to the end of elementary school, children are setting the foundation for future life skills.
- Methods of Teaching Early LiteracyThis textbook covers theories, teaching strategies, and instructional materials pertinent to teaching reading and writing in grades PK-3, with an emphasis on integrating reading, writing, speaking, and listening, as well as integration across content areas while addressing diversity and inclusion.
- Introduction to Human SexualityThis is an introductory human sexuality textbook.
- Sexuality, the Self, and SocietyContent included in Sexuality, the Self, and Society is aligned with the typical scope for an introductory, interdisciplinary Human Sexuality Textbook.
- Family Partnerships: Building Trusting, Responsive, and Child-Focused CollaborationsThis book is designed for pre-service and in-service educators, counselors, early childhood interventionists, and clinicians who work across agency, clinic, and school settings. Through scenario-based learning and interactive skills practice, readers of this book will develop and strengthen the competencies needed to build and sustain positive relationships with families.
- Immigrant and Refugee Families, 2nd Ed.Immigrant and Refugee Families: Global Perspectives on Displacement and Resettlement Experiences offers an interdisciplinary perspective on immigrant and refugee families' challenges and resilience across multiple domains, including economic, political, health, and human rights.
