Subscribe to Open Berea News
- Open Berea NewsFind out more about faculty development opportunities related to open education!
Open Educational Resources (OER) Librarian
Maria Taylor
she/her
Contact:
Office: Hutchins Library 221
CPO LIB
Hutchins Library
Berea College
Berea, KY 40404
CPO LIB
Hutchins Library
Berea College
Berea, KY 40404
859.985.3276
Website
Philosophy Repositories & Collections
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy1997- . The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a dynamic encyclopedia published by the Center for the Study of Language and Information at Stanford University.
Introduction to Philosophy
- OpenStax Intro to PhilosophyDesigned to meet the scope and sequence of your course, Introduction to Philosophy surveys logic, metaphysics, epistemology, theories of value, and history of philosophy thematically.
- Learning from Arguments: An Introduction to PhilosophyLearning from Arguments is a novel approach to teaching Introduction to Philosophy. It advances accessible versions of key philosophical arguments, in a form that students can emulate in their own writing, and with the primary aim of cultivating an understanding of the dynamics of philosophical argumentation.
- Introduction to Philosophy: Philosophy of MindIntroduction to Philosophy: Philosophy of Mind surveys the central themes in philosophy of mind and places them in a historical and contemporary context intended to engage first-time readers in the field. It focuses on debates about the status and character of the mind and its seemingly subjective nature in an apparently more objective world.
Primary Sources
- The Originals: Classic Readings in Western PhilosophyIt is important for students not only to get an appreciation and understanding of philosophy but also to be exposed to the very words and ideas of those who have shaped our thinking over the centuries.
- Sapientia: Open Readings in PhilosophyThis text is designed for use in an introductory course on philosophy in a college classroom. It is organized into five parts, each for major branches of philosophical inquiry: epistemology, metaphysics, ethics, and political philosophy.
- South and East Asian Philosophy Reader (Libretexts)Anthology that includes selections from Taoism, Confucius, The Bhagavad Gita, Vedas, Buddhist Sutras, Siddhartha (Herman Hesse), and Sun Tzu.
Logic
- Introduction to Philosophy: LogicIntroduction to Philosophy: Logic provides students with the concepts and skills necessary to identify and evaluate arguments effectively. The chapters, all written by experts in the field, provide an overview of what arguments are, the different types of arguments one can expect to encounter in both philosophy and everyday life, and how to recognise common argumentative mistakes.
- Fundamental Methods of LogicFundamental Methods of Logic is suitable for a one-semester introduction to logic/critical reasoning course. It covers the basics of formal and informal logic, including fallacies, inductive logic, and sentential logic. Includes some exercises.
- forallx: An Introduction to Formal LogicforallX is an introductory textbook in formal logic. It covers translation, proofs, and formal semantics for sentential and predicate logic. There is no charge to use the book either as a text for a course or for self-directed study, and you are welcome to revise it to fit your needs. It is available as a free download, and you can make hard copies.
- The Open Logic TextThe Open Logic Text is an open-source, modular, collaboratively authored collection of teaching materials for formal (meta)logic and formal methods, starting at an intermediate level (i.e., after an introductory formal logic course). It is aimed at a non-mathematical audience (in particular, students of philosophy and computer science), but is completely rigorous.
- A Concise Introduction to LogicThis text takes the unique approach of teaching logic through intellectual history; the author uses examples from important and celebrated arguments in philosophy to illustrate logical principles.
Ethics
- Introduction to Philosophy: EthicsPhilosophical ethics is the critical examination of these and other concepts central to how we evaluate our own and each others' behavior and choices. This text examines some of the main threads of discussion on these topics that have developed over the last couple of millenia, mostly within the Western cultural tradition.
- Phronesis: An Open Introduction to Ethical Theory with ReadingsThis OER is a remix of Ethics for A-Level by Mark Dimmok and Andrew Fisher as well as selected chapters from the OER textbook Introduction to Ethics, edited by Noah Levin. Supplementing these chapters is a selection of topical primary readings.
- Ethics for A-LevelFollowing the specification requirements of AQA and OCR, the book deals with Normative Ethics, then Metaethics and finally Applied Ethics. So guided by the AQA and OCR exam specifications, you will find various normative theories explained. You will then find those theories applied to real life examples. Sandwiched between these is the Metaethics chapter which asks: “But what is ethical practice?” Helpful student guides are included eithin every chapter including Common Student Mistakes”, “Issues to Consider” and “Key Terminology.”
Other Topics
- Modern PhilosophyThis is a textbook (or better, a workbook) in modern philosophy. It combines readings from primary sources with two pedagogical tools. Paragraphs in italics introduce figures and texts. Numbered study questions (also in italics) ask students to reconstruct an argument or position from the text, or draw connections among the readings.
- Introduction to Philosophy: Philosophy of ReligionThis text introduces some of the major traditional arguments for and against the existence of God, as well as some less well-known, but thought-provoking arguments for the existence of God, and one of the most important new challenges to religious belief from the Cognitive Science of Religion.
- Introduction to Philosophy: EpistemologyThis text engages first-time philosophy readers on a guided tour through the core concepts, questions, methods, arguments, and theories of epistemology—the branch of philosophy devoted to the study of knowledge. The book progresses systematically while placing key ideas and thinkers in historical and contemporary context.
- Introduction to Philosophy: Aesthetic Theory and PracticeThis text offers fresh perspectives on canonical and emerging topics in aesthetics, and also brings attention to a number of culturally sensitive topics that are customarily silenced in introductions to philosophical aesthetics. The papers are heterogeneous in terms of length and degrees of difficulty, inviting the reader into the study of contemporary aesthetics, which spans a lifetime.
