Subscribe to Open Berea News
- Open Berea NewsFind out more about faculty development opportunities related to open education!
Open Educational Resources (OER) Librarian
Maria Taylor
she/her
Contact:
Office: Hutchins Library 221
CPO LIB
Hutchins Library
Berea College
Berea, KY 40404
CPO LIB
Hutchins Library
Berea College
Berea, KY 40404
859.985.3276
Website
Music
- Comprehensive Musicianship, A Practical ResourceThis OER presents an integrated suite of learning resources developed for the core music theory and musicianship curriculum at the University of Northern Iowa School of Music. It provides a more comprehensive symbiosis of musicianship and music theory learning than can be found in existing textbooks, including engaging and progressive video demonstrations and interactive listening and vocal exercises that integrate musical knowledge with foundational musical skills.
- Multimodal MusicianshipIn addition to presenting key concepts related to music theory, this educational resource also incorporates ear training activities, including pitch pattern identification, sight singing with movable-do solfège, aural meter identification, rhythmic dictation, tonal melodic dictation, harmonic dictation, and contextual listening.
- Foundations of Aural SkillsFoundations of Aural Skills is a research-based, accessible, relevant, creative, inclusive, empowering textbook for teaching introductory aural skills.
- Music [History] 101A text compiled from simple article overviews of music history and its movements. overs the Medieval and Renaissance, Baroque, Classical Genres, Classical Forms, Classical Composers, Early Romantic Era, Romantic Opera, Late Romantic Era, 20th Century: Impressionism, Expressionism, and Twelve-Tone, 20th Century: Introduction to Primitivism, Nationalism, and Neoclassicism, 20th Century: Aleatoric, Electronic, and Minimalist Music.
- Music on the MoveWith its innovative multimodal approach, Music on the Move invites readers to listen and engage with many different types of music as they read. The text introduces a variety of concepts related to music's travels—with or without its makers—including colonialism, migration, diaspora, mediation, propaganda, copyright, and hybridity. The case studies represent a variety of musical genres and styles, Western and non-Western, concert music, traditional music, and popular music.
Music Theory
- Open Music Theory, 2nd editionOpen Music Theory is a natively-online open educational resource intended to serve as the primary text and workbook for undergraduate music theory curricula. OMT2 provides not only the material for a complete traditional core undergraduate music theory sequence, but also several other units for instructors who have diversified their curriculum, such as jazz, popular music, counterpoint, and orchestration.
- Open Music Theory, volume 1This is a new edition of Open Music Theory, an open-source, interactive, online “text”book for college-level music theory courses. Currently in production with a projected completion date of Summer 2020.
- Music Theory for the 21st Century ClassroomMusic Theory for the 21st–Century Classroom is an openly–licensed online four–semester college music theory textbook. This text differs from other music theory textbooks by focusing less on four–part (SATB) voiceleading and more on relating harmony to the phrase. This text is meant to take the student from the basics of reading and writing pitches and rhythms through twelve–tone technique and minimalism over the course of four semesters.
- Music Theory MaterialsThe Music Theory Materials website was created to provide materials – musical examples, videos, and handouts – that could be useful in music theory classes. The specific goal is to provide examples of full pieces of music that can be used in the study of musical form and analysis. The musical examples are presented as downloadable PDFs and audio files or as links to other sites that contain this information.
- Understanding Basic Music TheoryPublished by Rice University, this text significantly expands upon "Introduction to Music Theory", but only covers the bare essentials. Music is a very large subject, and the advanced theory that students will want to pursue after mastering the basics will vary greatly.
Other Topics in Music
- Music Composition & TheoryA Step-by-Step Method for student composers to write in a variety of styles, genres, and forms. Driven by simple model examples and accompanied by audio samples, it is intended to develop individual creativity and confidence in writing and, in so doing, explore the student’s inherent expressive talents. Each chapter provides reference examples from the literature for the student to discover works by master composers.
- Beyond the Classroom: World Music from the Musician’s Point of ViewThis resource is a library of video demonstrations and explanations by musicians from various global traditions, including Indigenous pow wow music and fiddling from Canada (Ontario), Cuban drumming and urban music, the mbira of the Shona of Zimbabwe, Balinese gamelan (Indonesia), classical music from North and South India, Persian classical music, and the maqam of West Asia and North Africa.
- Music in World CulturesThis text provides just a small sampling of some of the various musical styles and traditions that might be found, though the skills developed in this course can be applied to any type of music.
- Original Études for the Developing ConductorThis text is a collection of supplemental études designed to enhance contemporary conducting pedagogy by amplifying the voices of composers from historically excluded groups. Each étude was commissioned from and composed by a living composer, the majority of whom are woman-identifying composers and/or composers of color.
- Vocal Techniques for the Instrumentalist - 2nd editionThe purpose of this text is to teach instrumental music education students about vocal production as it applies to solo singing. Beginning with a foundational understanding of breathing, singers will learn about the vocal instrument (anatomy), how to create clear, pleasant, tone (phonation and resonance), pronounce words clearly (articulation and diction) and how singing is similar, and different, from playing an external instrument.
- Unlocking the Digital Age: The Musician's Guide to Research, Publishing, and CopyrightBased on coursework developed at the Peabody Conservatory, this book serves as a crucial resource for early career musicians navigating the complexities of the digital era. This guide bridges the gap between creative practice and scholarly research, empowering musicians to confidently share and protect their work as they expand their performing lives beyond the concert stage as citizen artists.
- Pay for Play: How the Music Industry Works, Where the Money Goes, and WhyThe history of music is closely linked to the history of copyright law. This book explores how the law shaped music and the music industry.
Music Scores
- Contemporary Music Score Collection, UCLA Music LibraryPublished by the UCLA Music Library in eScholarship, the Contemporary Music Score Collection includes the digital, open access scores from the Contemporary Score Edition series, the first open access edition of new music published by a library, and scores from the Kaleidoscope 2020 Call for Scores, an open access collaboration with the UCLA Music Library.
- International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP)A collection of sheet music in the public domain, with accompanying biographical and historical information.
- Mutopia ProjectFree sheet music to download, modify, print, copy, distribute, perform, and record – all in the Public Domain or under Creative Commons licenses
- Openscore"Aims to digitize and liberate all public domain sheet music, including the great classics of Mozart, Beethoven and Bach. With the help of our community, we aim to transfer history’s most influential pieces from paper into interactive scores which you can listen to, edit and share." Also committed to ensuring accessibility.
