Library Homepage: Open Educational Resources: Chemistry

Chemistry Repositories & Collections

Open Chem
Open Chemistry (OpenChem) provides a full curriculum of recorded lectures covering undergraduate chemistry plus selected graduate topics. Through lecture videos and ancillary materials, anyone in the world can effectively sit alongside UCI Irvine students and view complete undergraduate core and elective course lectures delivered by top faculty members.
ChemCollective
Includes tutorials, online courses, and more. From Carnegie Mellon
LibreTexts Download Library
A collection of Chemistry books from the LibreTexts library that are ready to download, print, or remix online. LibreTexts is a multi-institutional collaborative venture to develop the next generation of open-access texts to improve postsecondary education at all levels of higher learning.
ADAPT Homework System
Adapt is an online homework system that exists within the LibreTexts platform. Instructors can create courses and assignments for students. Course shells for preparatory chemistry, general chemistry, analytical chemistry, and organic chemistry are available in the commons area.
OpenOChem Cloud Homework System
A freely available online homework system that allows users to create interactive questions, and then assemble them into activities such as sequential and adaptive quizzes and SlideDecks.

Chemistry

OpenStax Chemistry
Chemistry is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. The textbook provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. The book also includes a number of innovative features, including interactive exercises and real-world applications, designed to enhance student learning.
OpenStax Chemistry: Atoms First
Chemistry: Atoms First is a peer-reviewed, openly licensed introductory textbook produced through a collaborative publishing partnership between OpenStax and the University of Connecticut.
Beginning Chemistry
This introductory chemistry text is aimed for a single semester or quarter beginning experience to the field. The textmaps survey some of the basic topics of chemistry. This survey should give student enough knowledge to appreciate the impact of chemistry in everyday life and, if necessary, prepare student for additional instruction in chemistry.
Chemistry 1 Lab Manual
This lab manual accompanies college Chemistry courses and is used to support and assess knowledge acquired in the classroom setting to be applied in the real world. Labs include activities such as measuring the density of a sucrose solution, calculating the percent composition, determining limiting reactants and more.
CLUE: Chemistry, Life, the Universe, and Everything
You might well ask, does the world really need another introductory chemistry textbook? The answer is, of course not—not if that book is just a variation on those currently available. This book takes an experimental approach to general chemistry, to present concepts and skills in various ways, ask students to talk about and work with their understanding, and then ask questions about what students actually mean when they use specific words and ideas. Critical to the success of this approach is time: the time required to understand what students think; the time required for students to recognize and talk about their assumptions; and the time required to listen to them explain their ideas.
CLUE Ancillaries
Chemistry, Life the Universe and Everything (CLUE) is a transformed general chemistry curriculum, developed by an interdisciplinary team of a chemist and a molecular biologist, that aims to bring about evidence based change in general chemistry. CLUE was developed using a design research approach that focuses on scaffolded progressions around four core ideas: structure and properties, bonding and interactions, energy, and change and stability. The materials developed include a text (supplied free to students), lecture support materials, workshop/recitation activities, video mini-lectures, and formative and summative assessment materials.

Organic Chemistry

Organic Chemistry: A Tenth Edition (McMurry)
John McMurry's Organic Chemistry is renowned as the most clearly written book available for organic chemistry. McMurry decided to publish Organic Chemistry: A Tenth Edition under an open license as a tribute to his son, Peter McMurry, who passed away from cystic fibrosis in December 2019.
Organic Chemistry I
An open textbook that is suitable for the first semester of Organic Chemistry. Basic concepts of the structures and reactivities of organic molecules are covered in this open textbook. Besides the fundamental discussions of organic acids-bases, stereochemistry, IR and NMR, this book also includes the topics of substitution and elimination reactions, radical substitution of alkanes, preparation and reactions of alkenes and alkynes.
Introductory Organic Chemistry
Introductory Organic Chemistry is intended for use as a text in a single-term organic chemistry course as part of a one-year Introductory Chemistry course series. The audience for this book is likely to include students majoring in fields outside of the Sciences but who need or want some specific knowledge of the subdiscipline of Organic Chemistry. This will include students in pre-health fields, but also possibly students interested in Natural Resources, Agriculture or Business.
Organic Chemistry Laboratory Techniques
In this resource you will find theory and procedures on the main organic lab techniques (chromatography, crystallization, extraction, distillation) as well as general concepts on how to set up and heat apparatuses (see the Table of Contents tab for a more complete listing of topics).
How to be a Successful Organic Chemist
How to be a successful organic chemist is meant as an introductory text for undergraduates taking organic chemistry teaching labs. The text is a clear and practical introduction to safety, chemical handling, organic chemistry techniques, and lab reports.

Open Educational Resources

Chemistry Repositories & Collections

Chemistry

Organic Chemistry

Other Topics in Chemistry