Skip to main content

Berea Sound Archives: Browse By Topic

Berea Sound Archives Banner

Berea's non-commercial audio and video collections document Appalachian history and culture, and the history of Berea College. They are especially strong in the areas of traditional music, religious expression, spoken lore, radio programs, oral history, and College events and personalities. These collections include field recordings from homes and churches, local and regional folk festivals, student performances, presentations of notable scholars, preachers, and social activists who have visited Berea. 

Research guides are the work of Archives staff and the College's Sound Archives Fellows.  Using audio and video illustrations, the guides cover a wide range of topics.  Finding Aids provide information and a complete list of collection materials.  Many finding aids include links to digitized audio and video content.

Related Berea Sound Archives Sites

Contact the Berea Sound Archives

Harry Rice, Sound Archivist

859.985.3249

riceh@berea.edu

Click for Celebration of Traditional Music Research Guides and Finding Aids

Click for Radio Programs Guides and Finding Aids

Click for Dulcimer Music Research Guides and Finding Aids

Click for Ballads Research Guides and Finding Aids

Click for Berea College Oral Histories Research Guides and Finding Aids

Click for Fiddle Tunes Research Guides and Finding Aids

Click for Gospel Songs, Hymns, and Sermons Research Guides and Finding Aids

Click for Harmonica Research Guides and Finding Aids

Click for Berea College Students Research Guides and Finding Aids

Click for Appalachian Region Oral Histories Research Guides and Finding Aids

Click for Banjo Music Research Guides and Finding Aids

Click for African American Music Research Guides and Finding Aids

Click for Folklore and Spoken Word Research Guides and Finding Aids

Click for Folk and Music Festivals Research Guides and Finding Aids

Click for Berea Community Oral Histories Research Guides and Finding Aids