African American Music Performances
in the Berea Sound Archives
Browse by state
- AlabamaBrowse AL African-American Music
- GeorgiaBrowse GA African American Music
- KentuckyBrowse KY African American Music
- North CarolinaBrowse NC African American Music
- TennesseeBrowse TN African American Music
- VirginiaBrowse VA African American Music
- West VirginiaBrowse WV African American Music
Related Berea Sound Archives Sites
- Traditional Music and Spoken Word Performances This link opens in a new windowLISTEN to selected musical performances and storytelling from the Berea Sound Archives.
- Traditional Music Video PerformancesVIEW selected traditional music video performances from the Berea Sound Archives
- Alan Lomax Kentucky CollectionListen to ocumentary sound recordings of rural Kentucky music and lore collected under the auspices of the Archive of American Folk Song at the Library of Congress between 1933 and 1942.
- Berea Sound Archives HomepageBrowse By Topic
- Examples of Oral Histories For Use As Primary SourcesSelected interview texts and recordings covering a wide range of topics.
- Oral History Collections GuideBerea's online oral history collections cover a broad range of topics in the areas of Appalachian history and culture, and the history of Berea College. In many instances searchable transcripts accompany the digitized audio recordings.
- Sound Archives Research GuidesResearch guides are the work of Archives staff and the College's Sound Archives Fellows. Using audio and video illustrations, the guides cover a wide range of topics.
- Sound Preservation ProgramThe program's focus is on Berea's collections of noncommercial recordings that document Appalachian history and culture and the history of Berea College.
- Sound Recording Analysis WorksheetA teaching / learning resource from the National Archives.
Contact the Berea Sound Archives
African American Music Research Guides
These guides are the work of Archives staff and scholars supported by the College’s Sound Archives Fellowship Program.
Additional African American Music Collections and Resources
John Henry Folk Festival - Kanawha County, West Virginia, Organized in the 1960s by African American musician, schoolteacher, and folklorist Ed Cabbell. The festivals are an annual celebration in West Virginia of its inter-ethnic cultural folk heritage with an emphasized focus on that of black Appalachians. The festival is especially noted for featuring Blues musicians and singers.
Ferrum College / Blue Ridge Institute and Museum has extensively preserved African American music and musicians primarily in southwest Virginia and the southern Virginia Blue Ridge.
Classic African-American ballads : from Smithsonian Folkways
Call Number: CD CD 782.421 C6135 2006
Stagolee Shot Billie by Cecil Brown (eBook)
