Dulcimer Performances in the Berea Sound Archives
Browse by State
- KentuckyBrowse KY dulcimer music
- North CarolinaBrowse NC dulcimer music
- VirginiaBrowse VA dulcimer music
- West VirginiaBrowse WV dulcimer music
Related Berea Sound Archives Sites
- Traditional Music and Spoken Word Performances This link opens in a new windowListen to selected musical performances and storytelling from the Berea Sound Archives.
- Alan Lomax Kentucky CollectionListen to ocumentary sound recordings of rural Kentucky music and lore collected under the auspices of the Archive of American Folk Song at the Library of Congress between 1933 and 1942.
- Oral History Collections GuideBerea's online oral history collections cover a broad range of topics in the areas of Appalachian history and culture, and the history of Berea College. In many instances searchable transcripts accompany the digitized audio recordings.
- Examples of Oral Histories For Use As Primary SourcesSelected interview texts and recordings covering a wide range of topics.
- Sound Recording Analysis WorksheetA teaching / learning resource from the National Archives.
- Sound Archives Research GuidesResearch guides are the work of Archives staff and the College's Sound Archives Fellows. Using audio and video illustrations, the guides cover a wide range of topics.
- Sound Preservation ProgramThe program's focus is on Berea's collections of noncommercial recordings that document Appalachian history and culture and the history of Berea College.
- Berea Sound Archives HomepageBrowse By Topic
Contact the Berea Sound Archives
Notable Dulcimer Musicians
Hubert Rogers; I.D. Stamper, and Jean Ritchie Together at the 1977 Celebration of Traditional Music
Phyllis Gaskins Interview 2012 Celebration of Traditional Music
Phyllis Gaskins of Elkton (Rockingham County), Virginia, specializes in the old Galax, Virginia, string band, fiddle-based dulcimer style that she learned to play over 30 years ago from her mentor, Raymond Melton The style goes back in the Melton family to the middle of the 1800s and is quite similar to that of many older West Virginia dulcimer players.
Don Pedi 2009 Celebration of Traditional Music
Ashville, North Carolina based Don Pedi plays traditional southern Appalachian dance music. However, rather than chording behind another instrument, or playing a de-boned version of the melody, his dulcimer can be the lead or solo instrument on the most elaborate tune, while making more than enough of a syncopated kick for the music to be danceable.
Other Resources
- Mountain Dulcimers in the Appalachian Artifacts CollectionFourteen dulcimers from the Appalachian Teaching Collection in the Loyal Jones Appalachian Center at Berea College, with information about their makers, based on the exhibit curated by Student Nathan Kouris in 2012.
