Tours
St. John's Bible Tours
Wednesdays at 3:00 PM by reservation at https://bctrace.com/explore/. Tours may be scheduled at other times by contacting Tim Binkley.
The Saint John’s Bible is a modern masterpiece of art and theology combining the ancient techniques of calligraphy and illumination with an ecumenical Christian approach to the Bible rooted in Benedictine spirituality. In our St. John's Bible tours, participants may handle, view, and contemplate the sacred texts and artworks within all seven volumes of Berea College's Heritage Edition St. John's Bible.
Breaking Silence: The Janis Ian Archives exhibition tours
Fridays at 3:00 PM by reservation at https://bctrace.com/explore/. Tours may be scheduled at other times contacting Peter Morphew.
Berea College Special Collections and Archives welcomes you to experience the Breaking Silence exhibit honoring the life and archival legacy of Janis Ian. Janis Ian’s life is a lesson in the power of one person’s voice to bring about change. Every Friday at 3:00 PM, exhibit curators will guide you through an array of sights and sounds highlighting her work as a creative writer, composer, Grammy award winning performing artist, and activist.
Sharing the foundational values of equality, opportunity, and education for all, Janis Ian and Berea College have partnered to permanently preserve and share her story. The exhibit is located in the Hutchins Library Foyer Gallery.
Friday Finds: Explore Berea College's Abraham Lincoln Collection
Fridays in February and March, 2025, at 2:00 PM by reservation at https://bctrace.com/explore/.
Over many decades, Hutchins Library has collected thousands of books, pamphlets, documents, and other items focusing on the life and legacy of Abraham Lincoln, our only Kentucky-born United States president. Today, Berea College's holdings comprise one of the largest Lincoln collections in the Commonwealth. During the months of February and March, Berea College Special Collections and Archives will host guided tours of the collection each Friday at 2:00 PM. Participants will be able to view writings by and about Abraham Lincoln, images of the former president, interesting artifacts, and published works about anti-slavery movements, the American Civil War, and collecting Lincolniana.
Upcoming Events
February 5, 2025
Research Fellowships and Awards
The Special Collections and Archives Media Archives Fellowship program awards fellowships to one or two researchers annually. Stipends are $1,400 for a two-week study visit.
Full details are available on this linked page.
The Special Collections and Archives Undergraduate Research Awards program recognizes outstanding original papers or projects that make substantive and creative use of SCA's media collections. Winning entries receive $500.
Full details are available on this linked page.
New Online Resources
Please visit our new Oral History Collections home page. (12/2023)
Southarts: In These Mountains Central Appalachian Arts and Culture
The South Arts In These Mountains collection documents various aspects of folk arts and culture in the central Appalachian counties of Kentucky, Tennessee, and North Carolina through the use of audio / video recording and photography.
Conducted during the period 2019-2021, the interviews document a wide range of artistic expression including pottery, puppetry, hip-hop and rap music, ukulele music, tattoo arts, food preservation, clogging, chair caning, quiltmaking, hair braiding, basketry, preaching, and land use. In addition to the work of individual artists, folk arts education programs are also documented. (12/2023)
Current Exhibitions
Breaking Silence: The Janis Ian Archives Exhibit. Open October 2024 through August 2025 in the Hutchins Library Foyer Gallery.
B.E.W. (Billy Edd Wheeler), remembering a beloved Berean. Opened October 2024. Location: Special Collections and Archives lobby.
Berea's Early History, 1855-1920, by Alivia J. West, '2023. Student exhibit in the SCA hallway.
