Folklore & Spoken Word Performances
in the Berea Sound Archives
Related Berea Sound Archives Sites
- Traditional Music and Spoken Word Performances This link opens in a new windowListen to selected musical performances and storytelling from the Berea Sound Archives.
- Alan Lomax Kentucky CollectionListen to ocumentary sound recordings of rural Kentucky music and lore collected under the auspices of the Archive of American Folk Song at the Library of Congress between 1933 and 1942.
- Oral History Collections GuideBerea's online oral history collections cover a broad range of topics in the areas of Appalachian history and culture, and the history of Berea College. In many instances searchable transcripts accompany the digitized audio recordings.
- Examples of Oral Histories For Use As Primary SourcesSelected interview texts and recordings covering a wide range of topics.
- Sound Recording Analysis WorksheetA teaching / learning resource from the National Archives.
- Sound Archives Research GuidesResearch guides are the work of Archives staff and the College's Sound Archives Fellows. Using audio and video illustrations, the guides cover a wide range of topics.
- Sound Preservation ProgramThe program's focus is on Berea's collections of noncommercial recordings that document Appalachian history and culture and the history of Berea College.
- Berea Sound Archives HomepageBrowse By Topic
Contact the Berea Sound Archives
Folklore & Spoken Word Research Guides
These guides are the work of Archives staff and scholars supported by the College’s Sound Archives Fellowship Program.
Folklore & Spoken Word Collections
These collections contain audio and / or video content. Click on the collection title for more information, a complete list of collection recordings, and links to the digitized content.
Kentucky Storytelling and Jack Tales
Stories by Harry Caudill, Bert Combs, and Bill C. Clark from the 1970s. Jack tales by Loyal Jones and
Leslie County Kentucky school children 1949-1950.
Leonard Ward Roberts Collection
Includes audio recordings and transcriptions of folklore narratives collected by noted Kentucky folklorist Leonard Roberts.
Hutchins Library - Indiana University Folktale Workshop
This collection is comprised of video recordings, transcriptions, photographs and other materials
of the 2003 Hutchins Library - Indiana University Folktale Workshop.
Fifth National Festival of Black Storytelling Collection, 1987
Video recordings documenting the Fifth National Festival of Black Storytelling held at Berea College, November 12-14, 1987. Features of the event included concurrent storytelling sessions for various ages, the Second National Liars Contest, an informal "Swapping Ground" for storytellers, and scholarly lectures on the status of blacks in Appalachia.
Planting by the Signs in Kentucky Oral History Collection, 2018-2019
Seventeen audio recorded interviews with active gardeners that document the practice of scheduling planting, cultivating, and harvesting crops based on moon phases and astrological signs.
Robert and Laura Thurman Appalachian Storytelling Collection
