Skip to Main Content

Library Policies

Collection Development Policy

Berea College, a private liberal arts institution, emphasizes education in the Southern Appalachian region and offers Bachelor of Arts and Science degrees in various disciplines. Its Great Commitments dedication to affordable, high-quality interracial education, servant leadership, and the dignity of labor. Hutchins Library supports these goals by providing resources for student learning, faculty research, and the College’s unique mission. 

Selection Criteria and Guidelines

Hutchins Library prioritizes materials that support the college’s curriculum, liberal arts education, and its Great Commitments through the following guiding principles: 

  • Prioritize student research needs;  

  • Maintain Special Collections & Archive’s Central and Southern Appalachia collection at a comprehensive research collection level; 

  • Provide faculty research support as funds allow; 

  • Utilize Interlibrary Loan (ILL) for occasional-use items and in-depth research needs; 

  • Collect primarily English-language materials, with exceptions for curricular need; 

  • Focus on current publications, with select out-of-print acquisitions; 

  • Avoid duplicate copies, except for high-demand titles or Special Collections; 

  • Seek Collection Development Committee approval for items exceeding $300 and any ongoing subscriptions; 

  • Retain only current editions; 

  • Consult standard selection tools (e.g., Choice, Library Journal, Kirkus) but do not rely on them exclusively; 

  • And, exclude textbooks, theses, annual reports, and workbooks (except in special cases). 

Responsibilities and Allocations

Collection development at Hutchins Library includes evaluation, selection, acquisition, and deselection to maintain a balanced, relevant collection. Library faculty and teaching faculty share these responsibilities: 

  • Each librarian serves as a collection liaison to academic departments; 

  • As requests are submitted materials are ordered until department allocated funds are exhausted. Budget adjustments may be made as needed; 

  • Library staff reserve the right to reject order requests that do not meet our collection development guidelines; 

  • Teaching faculty assist in selecting resources for curricular support and research; 

  • Library staff manage general, reference, and liberal arts collections, ensuring overall balance; 

  • Student recommendations are encouraged;