Skip to main content

About Special Collections & Archives

Information about Berea College Special Collections & Archives

College Archival Collections

The Berea College Archives include official records, publications, oral histories, personal papers, and photographs documenting the College's founding and history since 1855. Of particular importance records related to the college's Abolitionist founding, interracial history, and commitment to serving the southern Appalachian region.

 

Southern Appalachian Archival Collections

The Southern Appalachian archival collections include organizational records, personal papers, oral histories, and photographs documenting the history and culture of the Southern Appalachian region.

 

Historical Archival Collections

Historical archival collections consist of materials documenting organizations and individuals with local, state, or national significance, but not related to either the Appalachian region or Berea College.

 

Sound Archives

Berea's non-commercial audio and video collections document Appalachian history and culture as well as the history of Berea College. These collections are especially strong in the areas of traditional music, religious expression, spoken lore, radio programs, oral history, and College events and personalities. The Sound Archives include field recordings from homes, churches, and local and regional folk festivals as well as recordings of student performances and presentations of notable scholars, preachers, and social activists who have visited Berea.