Related Berea Sound Archives Sites
- Traditional Music and Spoken Word Performances This link opens in a new windowListen to selected musical performances and storytelling from the Berea Sound Archives.
- Alan Lomax Kentucky CollectionListen to ocumentary sound recordings of rural Kentucky music and lore collected under the auspices of the Archive of American Folk Song at the Library of Congress between 1933 and 1942.
- Oral History Collections GuideBerea's online oral history collections cover a broad range of topics in the areas of Appalachian history and culture, and the history of Berea College. In many instances searchable transcripts accompany the digitized audio recordings.
- Examples of Oral Histories For Use As Primary SourcesSelected interview texts and recordings covering a wide range of topics.
- Sound Recording Analysis WorksheetA teaching / learning resource from the National Archives.
- Sound Archives Research GuidesResearch guides are the work of Archives staff and the College's Sound Archives Fellows. Using audio and video illustrations, the guides cover a wide range of topics.
- Sound Preservation ProgramThe program's focus is on Berea's collections of noncommercial recordings that document Appalachian history and culture and the history of Berea College.
- Berea Sound Archives HomepageBrowse By Topic
Contact the Berea Sound Archives
Print, Oral Histories, Photography
- The G.I. Journal of Sergeant GilesA compilation of World War II journal entries and letters home, this book outlines the wartime experiences of Sergeant Henry Giles during his tour in Europe. As noted by his wife and editor of the book, Janice Holt Giles, the various entries are not differentiated as either letters or journal excerpts, but rather organized as a “journal” to give a seamless and compelling account of a soldier’s firsthand experiences and reflections on life in combat....
- Norman Ball Photographic CollectionAlongside The G.I. Journal of Sergeant Giles, the Norman Ball Photographic Collection (HC 37) offers a unique glimpse of the war from an American soldier’s point of view. The collection begins with a few artifacts of army life at the time: ration cards, R & R passes, and Army records, and is followed by an extensive collection of wartime photographs. Ball’s portfolio is exhaustive and is particularly striking for its series of portraits of his friends and colleagues: airmen at ease...
- I.W. Gabbard CollectionThough this collection contains diaries ranging until 1955, I chose to focus on those within the build-up to and the early years of World War II. Gabbard’s diaries, almost commonplace books in their scope, document not only the seasonal record of farming activities and weather, town events, and genealogy of Gabbard’s family, but also spiritual reflections, daily experiences and extensive doodles...
