Always be courteous to researchers. If they need help in using Special Collections materials, try to lend assistance by making appropriate suggestions or referring them to someone else for help. For example, if they are beginning their search for books and have not first used the public catalog upstairs, you might suggest that they do that, pointing out that Mountain, Berea, Lincoln, or Curio with the call number means that the book is in Special Collections. Or, if you learn that the researcher has a difficult or complex research question or problem, refer that person to an appropriate staff member. Do not hesitate to ask for help in trying to assist a patron.
Make sure that each researcher, if new to Special Collections, has read the “Information for Researchers” sheet or has been informed of departmental guidelines, and has filled out a researcher registration card before beginning work.
Always keep a record of the check-out and check-in transactions in the log book. This is important in order to maintain continuity of supervision of the use of materials when the shift changes at the Reading Room desk. Anytime the shift changes at the desk an effort should be made to inform the replacement of the existing situation in the Reading Room and the Special Collections area. The log is helpful, but sometimes information must be passed on orally. Continuity of supervision of activity in the Reading Room is essential.
Always enforce the “closed stack” policy. On rare occasions, exceptions to this policy may be made by a member of the Special Collections staff. Any inquiries to student assistants about browsing in the stacks should be referred to a supervisor. The Reading Room attendant should always be informed of any person allowed to browse in Special Collections or work inside the Special Collections area. Other staff members in the library occasionally have business in Special Collections, including certain student assistants from other departments. You should learn who these people are.
Be sure that you always have a clear view of anyone using a rare or fragile book or any archival/manuscript material.
One should always establish and maintain a presence in the Reading Room, making sure that the rules are observed and the materials are in no way abused. If you see someone breaking the rules governing the use of materials, do not hesitate to correct the situation. Be polite but firm in enforcing the rules. If the circumstances become difficult, call for assistance. Be especially vigilant if someone is using a rare or fragile book or archival/manuscript material.
If photocopying or scanning is desired, determine first whether the material can be copied. Researchers should be informed that appropriate slips (either photocopy or scanning slips) are to be used to indicate the items to be copied or scanned, and any additional information useful to the person carrying out those wishes. Items are not to be removed from folders.
Anyone wishing to use restricted archival or manuscript material should be referred to the Head of Special Collections or the College Archivist. Access to some material in the archives requires a signed agreement by the researcher that he/she will honor certain guidelines or restrictions. Access to certain other materials must be denied because of a time restriction placed by the donor.
Researchers should leave briefcases, bags, or portfolios in the lockers provided in the reception area.
Researchers are only allowed to use pencils without erasers (no pens).
Researchers using archival/manuscript material for the first time should be instructed in the proper manner of handling the material (i.e. turning the documents from left to right as if they were pages in a book).
One of the keys to the successful supervision of the Reading Room is having adequate back-up support from students and staff. If researchers are present, there must be a Reading Room attendant at all times.
If a person wishes to place a book or books on reserve at the circulation desk for nighttime or weekend use, check with the Head of Special Collections or the College Archivist for permission. Generally books should not be reserved for more than three days. Follow the correct procedure using the blue reserve book card and Special Collections flag. See to it that the reserved books are taken to circulation as soon as possible.
Always remain aware of the hold shelf and that books or other materials may be held for a researcher instead of being re-shelved after each use. Always try to ascertain whether the researcher is finished with the materials that have been used so that they may be re-shelved.
No materials should be loaned from the department without the permission of the Head of Special Collections or the College Archivist.
