Duties and Expectations of Special Collections Workers

Position Title: Apprentice I, WLS 1

Must work 10 hrs/wk.

Description:

    A. The following are the essential duties for an Apprentice I in the Special Collections Department: 

1. Serves at the Reception Desk; registers researchers
2. Retrieves books for patron use (patrons cannot browse in the stacks of the Special Collections area).
3. Retrieves boxes and files of archival and manuscript material.
4. Clips items from newspapers for Appalachian and Berea Vertical Files; identifies each clipping by paper and date; mounts clippings on coal industry.
5. Dusts and shelves books.
6. Takes reserve books to and from the Special Collections shelf at the Circulation Desk.
7. Runs errands in connection with the job.
8. Performs other job-related duties as assigned.

     B. The following are possible additional duties for this position:

1. See that the workplace and environs are clean.

Position Title: Apprentice II, WLS 2

Must work 10 hrs/wk

Description:

      A. The following are the essential duties for an Apprentice II in the Special Collections Department:

1. Serves at the Reception Desk; registers researchers.
2. Assumes the responsibility for the duties listed under the position of Special Collections Apprentice I.
3. Reads shelves and takes inventory.
4. Files material in the vertical files.
5. Performs other job-related duties as assigned.

     B. The following are possible additional duties for this position:

1. Supervise Grade 1 employees
2. Photocopy material for patrons
3. See that the workplace and environs are clean.

Position Title: Assistant, WLS 3

Must work 10 hrs/wk.

Description:

      A. The following are the essential duties for an Assistant in the Special Collections Department:

1. Serves at the Reception Desk; registers researchers.
2. Assumes responsibility for the duties listed under the position of Special Collections Apprentice II as necessary.
3. Checks books that come from Cataloging to see that the label on the spine of the book, call number, and main entry card all agree; files shelf and main entry cards in the card catalog.
4. Checks automated catalog against dealer catalogs for out-of-print and new books. (Information must be accurate as the librarian's decision to order is based on information given.)
5. Records accessions in Accession Log.
6. Processes manuscript collections under direction of supervising archivist; produces guides to processed collections.
7. Photocopies materials for patrons.
8. Performs other job-related duties as assigned.

      B. The following are possible additional duties for this position:
1. Supervise Grade 1 and 2 student employees on specific assignments.
2. Assist in training students.
3. See that the workplace and environs are clean.

Position Title: Associate, WLS 4

Must work 10 hrs/wk.

Description:

     A. The following are the essential duties for an Association in the Special Collections Department:

1. Serves at the Reception Desk; registers researchers.
2. Assumes responsibility for the duties listed under the position of Special Collections Assistant as necessary.
3. Indexes Berea Alumnus, types index cards for this publication and files in index.
4. Does bibliographic searching. 5. Performs other job-related duties as assigned.

     B. The following are possible additional duties for this position:

1. Supervise Grade 1, 2 and 3 student employees on specific assignments.
2. Assist in training students.
3. Assume responsibility for department if necessary.
4. Categorize and file ephemera.
5. See that the workplace and environs are clean.