Audio Highlight - J.L. Burke (Whitley County, KY)
J.L. Burke - Whitley County, Kentucky
"Texas Two-Step,"
01-05-2008
William Sears Collection (SC-VD-091-009)
Audio Highlight - Margarette Bowlin (Whitley County, KY)
Margarette Bowlin - Whitley County, Kentucky
"Twenty Froggies,"
01-03-2008
William Sears Collection (SC-VD-091-011)
Related Berea Sound Archives Sites
- Traditional Music and Spoken Word Performances This link opens in a new windowListen to selected musical performances and storytelling from the Berea Sound Archives.
- Alan Lomax Kentucky CollectionListen to ocumentary sound recordings of rural Kentucky music and lore collected under the auspices of the Archive of American Folk Song at the Library of Congress between 1933 and 1942.
- Oral History Collections GuideBerea's online oral history collections cover a broad range of topics in the areas of Appalachian history and culture, and the history of Berea College. In many instances searchable transcripts accompany the digitized audio recordings.
- Examples of Oral Histories For Use As Primary SourcesSelected interview texts and recordings covering a wide range of topics.
- Sound Recording Analysis WorksheetA teaching / learning resource from the National Archives.
- Sound Archives Research GuidesResearch guides are the work of Archives staff and the College's Sound Archives Fellows. Using audio and video illustrations, the guides cover a wide range of topics.
- Sound Preservation ProgramThe program's focus is on Berea's collections of noncommercial recordings that document Appalachian history and culture and the history of Berea College.
- Berea Sound Archives HomepageBrowse By Topic
Contact the Berea Sound Archives
Recordings
Recordings that I made include interview and performance documentation of the following musicians:
- Margarette BowlinAn elementary school music teacher, age 60, a singer and dulcimer/guitar player. She is of particular interest for her large song repertoire, many of which were current at home and at church during her Whitley County childhood.
- J. L. BurkeRetired teacher and minister, age 85, a fiddler, guitar player, and singer. He is
of particular interest for his dual repertoire of Kentucky tunes and western swing that he learned during military related travels. - Junior McKeehanRetired coal trucker, age 75, who is of particular interest for his two-finger banjo style learned from his father.
