Celebration of Traditional Music Performances in the Berea Sound Archives
Related Berea Sound Archives Sites
- Traditional Music and Spoken Word Performances This link opens in a new windowListen to selected musical performances and storytelling from the Berea Sound Archives.
- Alan Lomax Kentucky CollectionListen to ocumentary sound recordings of rural Kentucky music and lore collected under the auspices of the Archive of American Folk Song at the Library of Congress between 1933 and 1942.
- Oral History Collections GuideBerea's online oral history collections cover a broad range of topics in the areas of Appalachian history and culture, and the history of Berea College. In many instances searchable transcripts accompany the digitized audio recordings.
- Examples of Oral Histories For Use As Primary SourcesSelected interview texts and recordings covering a wide range of topics.
- Sound Recording Analysis WorksheetA teaching / learning resource from the National Archives.
- Sound Archives Research GuidesResearch guides are the work of Archives staff and the College's Sound Archives Fellows. Using audio and video illustrations, the guides cover a wide range of topics.
- Sound Preservation ProgramThe program's focus is on Berea's collections of noncommercial recordings that document Appalachian history and culture and the history of Berea College.
- Berea Sound Archives HomepageBrowse By Topic
Contact the Berea Sound Archives
Celebration of Traditional Music Research Guides
These guides are the work of Archives staff and scholars supported by the College’s Sound Archives Fellowship Program.
- Berea’s Celebration of Traditional Music & African American Experience in AppalachiaAjay Kalra, 2006 Appalachian Sound Archives Fellow, profiles and analyzes African American performers at Berea's Celebration of Traditional Music.
- Tradition, Race, and Gender in the Celebration of Traditional MusicDeborah Thompson, 2006 Appalachian Sound Archives Fellow, focused on the ways race and gender are represented in Appalachian music, particularly in the context of such events as Berea's Celebration of Traditional Music.
- Berea's Rhythm and RootsThe exhibit traces the progress of how the home-made music of the southern Appalachians has been given expression at Berea College.
Celebration of Traditional Music Collection Finding Aids and Selected Video Performances
These collections contain audio and / or video content available in the Berea Sound Archives or the Digital Archives (Berea College). Click on the collection title for more information, a complete list of collection materials, and links to the digitized content.
- Celebration of Traditional Music Recordings RG 06-6.12.5 RAudio and video recordings by year of Celebration of Traditional Music performances 1974 - 2018. Also included are recordings and transcripts of meetings of the Traditional Music Committee relating to the planning of the Celebration's early years.
- Celebration of Traditional Music Records RG 06-6.12.5Records document the programming and history of the Celebration of Traditional Music. Collection includes brochures, print materials, and event posters.
Additional Celebration of Traditional Music Resources
- History of the Celebration of Traditional MusicA detailed history of CTM can be found on the Loyal Jones Appalachian Center website
- Berea College Traditional Music Committee meetings.Digital materials from Berea College Archives, RG 11.08. Collection
- Celebration of Traditional Music Oral History CollectionTwelve video recorded interviews that include event founder Loyal Jones, members of the Traditional Music Committee, and performers.
Book
History of Folk Music Festivals in the United Sates by ISBN: 9780810862029, 0810862026Publication Date: 2008
