Audio Highlight
Jane Muncy - Leslie County, KY
"Foolish Jack," 3-1-1955.
Leonard Ward Roberts Collection, (LR-OR-050-02)
Related Berea Sound Archives Sites
- Traditional Music and Spoken Word Performances This link opens in a new windowListen to selected musical performances and storytelling from the Berea Sound Archives.
- Alan Lomax Kentucky CollectionListen to ocumentary sound recordings of rural Kentucky music and lore collected under the auspices of the Archive of American Folk Song at the Library of Congress between 1933 and 1942.
- Oral History Collections GuideBerea's online oral history collections cover a broad range of topics in the areas of Appalachian history and culture, and the history of Berea College. In many instances searchable transcripts accompany the digitized audio recordings.
- Examples of Oral Histories For Use As Primary SourcesSelected interview texts and recordings covering a wide range of topics.
- Sound Recording Analysis WorksheetA teaching / learning resource from the National Archives.
- Sound Archives Research GuidesResearch guides are the work of Archives staff and the College's Sound Archives Fellows. Using audio and video illustrations, the guides cover a wide range of topics.
- Sound Preservation ProgramThe program's focus is on Berea's collections of noncommercial recordings that document Appalachian history and culture and the history of Berea College.
- Berea Sound Archives HomepageBrowse By Topic
Contact the Berea Sound Archives
Dr. Susan W. Mills
Dr. Susan Mills is the Coordinator of Music Education at Appalachian State University in Boone, North Carolina. Her traditional music involvement started with high school folk dance activities. She has played bass and piano for folk dance groups and at commercial country and bluegrass venues in Florida and has taught music at the elementary and middle school level.
Susan's Fellowship work at Berea, June - July 2007, focused on the development of teaching resources for elementary and middle school music classes that meet state and national music education standards.
The resources she developed are derived mainly from singing games, games without music, dances, folk songs, ballads and tales documented in audio and manuscript materials in Berea's Leonard Roberts Collection which documents many aspects of eastern Kentucky folklife.
Appalachian Songs & Singing Games Project
The teaching resources Susan developed are available through a website, journal publications, classroom lecture/demonstrations, and music education in-service workshops. The website is available through the Appalachian State University's Hayes School of Music.
Opportunities for teaching the featured songs, dances, and games beyond college classes have included presentations at such venues as the Appalachian Festival at Frostburg State University. An article on family traditions of traditional music and its use in elementary music classes is forthcoming in a 2008 issue of General Music Today. Another article, "Tracing the Footsteps of a Folklorist" will appear in The Mountain Lake Reader Spring 2008 issue.
Professional association presentations are in the works for the Cultural Diversity in Music Education (CDIME) conference in Seattle, March, 2008 and the American Orff-Schulwerk Association (motion and music) in Charlotte, NC, November, 2008.
- Appalachian Songs & Singing Games ProjectContent in this web site is intended for use in public school music classrooms, and for social studies lessons.Web site maintained by Appalachian State University.
- "Bringing the Family Tradition in Bluegrass Music to the Music Classroom"Article in General Music Today, Winter 2009 by Susan Mills.
- "Tracing the Footsteps of a Folklorist"Article in The Mountain Lake Reader, Spring 2009 by Susan Mills
- "Research to Resources: Appalachian Folklore in the Music Classroom"Article in The ORFF Echo, Winter 2011 by Susan Mills and Lisa Runner.
