Need more help?
Librarian's Top Picks
Engineers in both industry and academia are constantly discussing engineering topics and sharing their insights on solving problems. This ongoing conversation has been happening for years, and being able to join in is an important skill for engineers. At first, you’ll mostly listen and learn from what others have said. But soon, you'll start sharing your own ideas and findings. Even the papers you write in school contribute to this conversation.
To get the most out of these discussions, it’s helpful to know the different ways researchers and engineers share their work. This knowledge will guide you in finding the right resources and understanding what you discover. Depending on what information you need, any of the resource types listed below could be useful.
Keep in mind that this list focuses on the resources the library can provide, and it isn’t exhaustive. Much of the engineering conversation happens informally, and those casual exchanges are usually not available through the library.
Encyclopedia of Science,Technology and EthicsCall Number: E-BookPublication Date: 2005This Encyclopedia considers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society. This broad coverage supports the numerous courses in applied and professional ethics and policy related to the practice of science and technology in education.
- Career & Technical Education Database This link opens in a new windowCareer & Technical Education Database is the definitive source for vocational information. The database includes over 600 titles, with more than 500 available in full text. Both students and instructors can access the database to research virtually any technical topic, including: Computing science, Healthcare, Building trades, Auto mechanics, Sales and retail, Accounting, Graphic design, Photography
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is an online statistics portal that provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions, such as the World Bank, the US Census Bureau, the Pew Research Center, and the IMF. Statista offers statistics and survey results in the form of bar charts and tables and includes, for example, data on advertising, consumer behavior, separate business fields, and governmental data. These are divided over some 20 industry categories such as advertising, chemicals, energy, consumer goods, eCommerce, banking, and transportation.
