Why Use Encyclopedias?
Background sources like encyclopedias can provide context for your topic, or even help you choose one. They are great places to start because:
- they explain topics in simpler language than scholarly articles
- they are much shorter (often just a just a page or two, instead of the 20 pages or more found in a scholarly article or the hundreds of pages found in a book)
- they highlight important issues, figures, dates, and/or events that you may want to focus on in your paper or project
- they give you suggested sources for further research in the form of bibliographies or works cited
Online Encyclopedias
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowGale Virtual Reference Library offers a wide variety of full-text interdisciplinary content on virtually any subject area to support assignments, papers, projects, and presentations. Includes the Scribner Writers Series.
For example, below are links to two search results in Gale Virtual Reference Library:
The following are recommended encyclopedias in your field. You can read them online 24/7.
Encyclopedia of Science,Technology and EthicsCall Number: E-BookPublication Date: 2005This Encyclopedia considers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society. This broad coverage supports the numerous courses in applied and professional ethics and policy related to the practice of science and technology in education.
Careers in Engineering by Call Number: E-Book (Berea College Only)ISBN: 9780071642194Publication Date: 2009Engineer a plan for career success Careers in engineering are tremendously rewarding and offer diverse opportunities. To decide what job route is best for you, you need to develop a clear plan: What will you specialize in? Do you need an advanced degree or certificate? How will you find the right position? Careers in Engineering has the answers. Here, you'll discover all the information you need to find a satisfying and secure job doing what you love. Whether you want to work in chemical, civil, or electronic engineering, this guide will help you: Clearly understand your various career options Find the field best suited for you-from petroleum to aerospace to mechanical engineering Know what to expect when you start out Determine the education and training you'll need to stay ahead of the competition Familiarize yourself with current salaries, benefits, and the prime job prospects
Best Customers by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 1937737411Publication Date: 2017-06-18Based on data collected from the Bureau of Labor Statistics' 2014 Consumer Expenditure Survey, this report analyzes the demographics of household spending on hundreds of products and services. Identifies which households spend the most on those products and services, and which control the largest share of spending. Also included is a product-by-product analysis of spending trends before and after the Great Recession, and a prediction of future trends.
Print Encyclopedias
Hutchins Library also has a large collection of print enyclopedias that you can access in person in the Reference area on the main floor.
The History of Science and Technology by Call Number: 509 B942h 2004 (Location: Reference)Publication Date: 2004The History of Science and Technology answers all the what, when, why, and how questions about our world’s greatest discoveries and inventions: How are bridges built? When were bifocal eyeglasses invented and by whom? What medical discovery led to the introduction of sterilization, vaccines, and antibiotics? What is the PCR (polymerase chain reaction) process, and why is it one of the pillars of the biotechnology revolution? Not only can you discover how our world came to be and how it works, but with cross-referenced entries you can also trace many intricate and exciting connections across time
Guide to Information Sources in Engineering by Call Number: 025.066 L866g (Location: Reference)Publication Date: 2000The only source that focuses exclusively on engineering and technology, this important guide maps the dynamic and changing field of information sources published for engineers in recent years. Lord highlights basic perspectives, access tools, and English-language resources--directories, encyclopedias, yearbooks, dictionaries, databases, indexes, libraries, buyer's guides, Internet resources, and more. Substantial emphasis is placed on digital resources.
The Focal encyclopedia of photography : digital imaging, theory and applications, history, and science by Call Number: 770.3 F653 2007 (Location: Reference)Publication Date: 2007This Encyclopedia, produced by a team of world renown practicing experts, shares in highly detailed descriptions, the core concepts and facts relative to anything photographic. This Fourth edition of the Focal Encyclopedia serves as the definitive reference for students and practitioners of photography worldwide.
Encyclopedia of Wood by Call Number: 674. 03 E564 2005 (Location: Reference)Publication Date: 2005An invaluable reference for woodworkers, crafters, furniture designers, and home enthusiasts, this comprehensive guide helps readers discover one of our most beautiful natural resources and learn how to use and appreciate this wonderfully versatile material.
Machinery's handbook : a reference book for the mechanical engineer, designer, manufacturing engineer, draftsman toolmaker and machinist by Call Number: 621.802 O12m 2004 (Location: Reference)Publication Date: 2004Extraordinarily comprehensive yet easy to use, Machinery's Handbook provides mechanical and manufacturing engineers, designers, draftsmen, machine toolmakers, machinists and students with a broad range of basic and advanced material. The Machinery's Handbook includes industry fundamentals and standards, as well as new material reflecting technological advances and editorial improvements.
Encyclopedia of Modern Everyday Inventions by Call Number: 609.04 C689e 2002ISBN: 9780313313455Publication Date: 2003-04-30The 20th century saw radical changes to the pulse and quality of its everyday life, thanks to a wave of astonishing inventions that improved virtually every aspect of daily existence. Some inventions became essential household products we continue to use today. Others were replaced by new and improved inventions. This invaluable reference presents more than 40 alphabetical categories of everyday inventions for the home and domestic life, grouped by purpose or function. Inventions covered in Encyclopedia of Modern Everyday Inventions include ballpoint pens, coffee makers, electric guitars, hair dryers, the Internet, remote controls, zippers, and many other daily household items. Articles detail each invention's history, including how it works and what future developments are possible. A portrait of the larger historical, technological, and cultural landscape helps students understand why certain products were invented and how the future could alter the need for these products. An index and cross-references allow readers to easily find specific inventions of interest. Illustrations and diagrams complement the text.
Reports and Periodicals
- Industry Survey This link opens in a new windowAvailable through S&P Global NetAdvantage. (See labeled tab in top navigation bar.)
Service magazine providing ideas and information on automobiles, home building, maintenance, boating, outdoor recreation, electronics and science.
