Library Homepage: Folk & Music Festivals in the Berea Sound Archives: Folk Festival Archival & Print Resources

Related Berea Sound Archives Sites

Traditional Music and Spoken Word Performances
LISTEN to selected musical performances and storytelling from the Berea Sound Archives.

Traditional Music Video Performances
VIEW selected traditional music video performances from the Berea Sound Archives
Alan Lomax Kentucky Collection
LISTEN to documentary sound recordings of rural Kentucky music and lore collected under the auspices of the Archive of American Folk Song at the Library of Congress between 1933 and 1942.
Oral History Collections Guide
Berea's online oral history collections cover a broad range of topics in the areas of Appalachian history and culture, and the history of Berea College. In many instances searchable transcripts accompany the digitized audio recordings.
Examples of Oral Histories For Use As Primary Sources
Selected interview texts and recordings covering a wide range of topics.
Sound Recording Analysis Worksheet
A teaching / learning resource from the National Archives.
Berea Sound Archives Homepage
Browse By Topic
Sound Archives Research Guides
Research guides are the work of Archives staff and the College's Sound Archives Fellows. Using audio and video illustrations, the guides cover a wide range of topics.
Sound Preservation Program
The program's focus is on Berea's collections of noncommercial recordings that document Appalachian history and culture and the history of Berea College.

Harry Rice, Sound Archivist

859.985.3249

Archival Resources

Bascom Lamar Lunsford Collection, 1874-1973, SAA 29
Correspondence, photographs, diary photocopies, folk song lyrics, interviews, sound and video recordings documenting the career of North Carolina folk music scholar and festival organizer, Bascom Lamar Lunsford. Tune titles and performer names are searchable via an in-house database and printed index. (10 ms boxes)
McLain Family Band Records, SAA 86
Correspondence, concert/bluegrass festival programs, advertising material, photographs, sound and video recordings that document the McLain Family Band’s performing activity between 1968 and 1989. (52 ms boxes)
Reuben Powell Early Country Music Collection 1910-1982, SAA 65
Correspondence, clippings, and audio recordings of music and interviews that reflect Powell’s efforts at documenting a host of early country music performers, mainly 1930 to 1950. He was particularly interested in those from Kentucky and any associated with such radio programs as the National Barn Dance and the Renfro Valley Barn Dance. (10 ms boxes and 13 card file boxes)

Magazines

Sing Out! The Folk Song Magazine by Peoples Artists
Publication Date: 1950-2014

Preserving and supporting the cultural diversity and heritage of all traditional and contemporary folk musics since 1950.
Bluegrass Unlimited by Bluegrass Unlimited, Inc.
Publication Date: 1966-

Bluegrass Unlimited Magazine was created in July 1966. It is the #1 publication in the Bluegrass Music industry.
The Old-Time Herald by Sarah Bryan
Publication Date: c1987-

The Old-Time Herald celebrates the love of old-time music -- grassroots or home-grown music and dance. Old-time music shares origins, influences and musical characteristics with roots musics across America. Our magazine casts a wide net, highlighting the Southeastern tradition while opening its pages to kindred and comparable traditions and new directions.
Muleskinner News by Elon College, NC
Publication Date: 1969-1977

Founded by Fred Bartenstein, the News offered a variety of information to the bluegrass fan, from interviews with various artists and up-and-coming stars, to valuable discussions of the historical background of bluegrass, as well as a list of future appearances and festivals. In its time, the News served a valuable role.