What, How and Why?
Confused about primary sources, how to use them, or where to find them? Read more about using Primary Sources, brought to you by Instructional Services.
Published Primary Sources
Berea College: An Interesting History by Call Number: 378.7691 F165Title has multiple copies:
Circulating (3rd Floor); College History (2nd Floor - Reference)
SC&A - Berea and Curio
Online Version (Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice Database)
Description of Berea's founding and early history written by the first College President, Edward Henry Fairchild, and published in 1875; second printing in 1883.
An Autobiography by Call Number: 378.7691 F295aTitle has multiple online versions.
Online Version I (UNC - Doc South)
Online Version II (Kentuckiana Digital Library)
Online Version III (Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice Database)
Autobiography of John G. Fee, founder of Berea College, published in 1891.
Birth of Berea College: A Story of Providence by Call Number: 378.7691 R727bOne of the earliest teachers, trustees, and administrators of Berea College, Rogers provides his account of Berea's founding, published in 1903, reprinted in 1933. Link leads to e-book, hard copies also available.
For the Mountains: An Autobiography by Call Number: 378.7691 F939fBerea College's third president, William Goodell Frost, provides an autobiographical account of his time leading the institution and his views on Berea's founding, published in 1937.
"I Never Lose Heart:" Baccalaureate Address by Call Number: 252 H974in (Locations: Circulating, College History)Publication Date: 1960Compilation of Baccalaureate Addresses given by Berea College President William J. Hutchins, title taken from address given in 1924.
Berea College: The Telescope and the Spade by Call Number: 378.7691 H9738bTitle has multiple copies:
Circulating (3rd Floor)
College History (2nd Floor - Reference)
SC&A - Berea
Published in 1963, address given at the Newcomen Society of North America.
Historical Register, 1916 by Call Number: 378.7691 B487ad 1916Lists students, alumni, faculty and staff up to 1916.
Speeches
- Abraham Lincoln, Kentucky mountaineer : an address delivered before the faculty and students of Berea college, Berea, Kentucky, 8 March 1923 by William E. Barton973.7 B29ak
College History Collection
Special Collections & Archives Mountain Collection
