Published Sources
-
Evangelical War Against Slavery and Caste : The Life and Times of John G. Fee -by Victor B. Howard
Call Number: 976.904 F295zh -
A Utopian Experiment in Kentucky: Integration and Social Equality at Berea, 1866-1904by Richard Sears
Call Number: 976.953 S439u -
Berea and Madison County (KY) (Black America Series)by Jacqueline Grisby Burnside
Call Number: 976.953 B967b 2007 -
History of Education: From the Greeks to the Present Timeby John Henry Jackson
-
The Mis-Education of the Negroby Carter G. Woodson
-
The Education of the Negro Prior to 1861by Carter G. Woodson
Berea College mentioned on page 224 of 1919 edition.
There is an online version through Project Gutenburg, but it is a transcribed interface. -
Berea College and Interracial Education: The First 150 YearsIn this important essay, Andrew Baskin, Associate Professor of African and African American Studies and General Studies, discusses "how Bereans have tried to achieve the commitment to interracial education from the founding of the institution in 1855 to its sesquicentennial in 2005-2006."
Essays and Journal Articles
Manuscript and Archival Collections
Need more primary sources? Search Berea Digital!
View all Berea College collections available online through the Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice database.
-
Anti-slavery Collection (HC 3 - Series I)The Anti-Slavery Collection (HC3) represents the major portion of documents pertaining to slavery not held in the Berea College Archives. Consisting mainly of publications and slave deeds from 1830-1850, these items do not necessarily connect with Berea College. However, materials in the collection are mostly abolitionist documents and share Berea College’s open opposition to the institution of slavery.
-
Day Law Collection (BCA RG 13.06)Call Number: RG 13.06 - Day Law - Berea College Archives
Here you will find printed material, correspondence, clippings and other documents related to the Day Law from the Berea College Archives. -
Day Law - Vertical Files - Part INewspaper clippings and printed material about the Day Law from the Berea College Archives Vertical Files.
-
Day Law - Vertical Files - Part IINewspaper clippings and printed material about the Day Law from the Berea College Archives Vertical Files.
-
Day Law - Vertical Files - Part IIINewspaper clippings and printed material about the Day Law from the Berea College Archives Vertical Files.
-
Day Law - The Papers of William Goodell Frost (BCA - RG 3.03)Call Number: RG 3.03 - Papers of William Goodell Frost - College Presidents - Berea College Archives.
This link takes you to the portion of the William Goodell Frost Papers (Box 23, 8 folders) that deals directly with the Day Law.
Audio and Visual Sources
-
Berea College Blacks in Appalachia Symposium collection [video recording]Berea College Archives
Call Number: RG 11.07
This is a special media resource, please contact SC&A for availability. -
Fifth National Festival of Black Storytelling Collection [videorecording]Berea College Archives
Call Number: RG 11.06
This is a special media resource, please contact SC&A for availability. -
Lincoln Institute Oral History Collection, 2003-2008Berea College Archives
Call Number: RG 14.02
This is a special media resource, please contact SC&A for availability.
Lincoln Institute Collection
Due to the Kentucky legislature’s passage of the Day Law, which prohibited the education of black and white students together, a new institution was established to serve the needs of the black students, and in 1912 The Lincoln Institute opened. Berea College set aside funds to assist the establishment of the Lincoln Institute.
Did you know?
Did you know Carter G. Woodson, considered the father of African American history, graduated from Berea College in 1903?