Why Use Encyclopedias?
Background sources like encyclopedias can provide context for your topic, or even help you choose one. They are great places to start because:
- they explain topics in simpler language than scholarly articles
- they are much shorter (often just a just a page or two, instead of the 20 pages or more found in a scholarly article or the hundreds of pages found in a book)
- they highlight important issues, figures, dates, and/or events that you may want to focus on in your paper or project
- they give you suggested sources for further research in the form of bibliographies or works cited
Online Encyclopedias
The following are recommended encyclopedias in your field. You can read them online 24/7.
Gale Encyclopedia of MedicineCall Number: E-BookPublication Date: 2011Includes information on more than 1,700 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone.
BioethicsCall Number: E-BookPublication Date: 2014Offers hundreds of revisions or addenda to entries from previous editions as well as new or revised entries on topics such as key cases in bioethics, the human biome, genetically modified foods, emergency preparedness and response, social justice, sustainability, chemical warfare and torture, among many others. Revised articles explain the events as well as legislation changes of the past decade. Previous editions published as the Encyclopedia of Bioethics.
Body SystemsCall Number: E-BookPublication Date: 2014Covers the 14 systems of the human body and their role and functions both from an individual organ perspective and each system as a whole, as well as what occurs when systems are not functioning properly due to injury, disease, or other causes. Entries cover the development of each body system from birth to full adult growth, as well as adjustments by the body during the senior years.
Encyclopedia of Health and AgingCall Number: E-BookPublication Date: 2007This encyclopedia covers the biological, psychological, social, and economic aspects of health and aging and impacts within the health-care system.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Environmental HealthCall Number: E-BookPublication Date: 2013This set provides more than 1,000 entries covering topics in nursing and allied health written for students and professionals in the field. Alphabetically arranged entries cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. Covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, and respiratory therapy..
Print Encyclopedias
Hutchins Library also has a large collection of print enyclopedias that you can access in person in the Reference area on the main floor. Here are some of the titles we recommend:
