Appalachian Foodways
Appalachian Foodways
Highlighted SC&A Archival Collections for Appalachian Foodways
- Margaret Dotson Foodways Collection
A collection of sources assembled with the intention of assisting researchers examining the past foodways, social history, commerce, and genealogy of the Appalachian region. - Appalachian Foodways Oral History Collection
A collection of interviews making up part of a multi-year oral history effort titled: Gathering the Stories of Appalachian Foodways: an Oral History Project. - Berea College Appalachian Museum Oral History Collection
This collection consists of interviews recorded between 1975 and 1980 documenting a wide variety of Appalachian traditional crafts, occupations, and expressive culture from areas of Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, North Carolina, Tennessee, and West Virginia. - East Kentucky Food and Dance Trail Oral History Collection
Collection of oral history interviews documenting combined food and dance gatherings in eastern Kentucky. The interviewing effort is part of the East Kentucky Food and Dance Trail Program at Hindman Settlement School in Hindman, Ky. - Planting By the Signs In Kentucky Oral History Collection
This collection consists of seventeen audio recorded interviews that document the practice of scheduling planting, cultivating, and harvesting crops based on moon phases and astrological signs. The interviews were recorded by Dr. Sarah Hall, Associate Professor of Agriculture & Natural Resources in Berea College's Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources.
Margaret Dotson Appalachian Counties Community Cookbook Collection
- Margaret Dotson Appalachian Counties Community Cookbook Collection
The Margaret Dotson Appalachian Counties Community Cookbook Collection contains over 400 cookbooks. Click here to view the materials within this collection.
Additional Archival Collections of Interest
- Food and Drink History Resources at Virginia Tech (and Beyond)
Resources to help with your food & drink history research, including books, manuscript collections, ephemera & digital items. Includes links to resources at Virginia Tech and a number of other institutions. - UNC-Greensboro's Southern Appalachian Mountain Foodways guide
A short introduction to the culturally rich heritage that is Southern Appalachian Mountain cookery. Guide created by Maria Hale
Online Resources and Primary Sources of Interest
SC&A and Hutchins Library Online Resources
- Search the American Periodicals Database
Berea College login required. - Search the AM Explorer database of primary source collections spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.
Includes Berea College records. Berea College login required.
Learn More about Using Archives
- Using Archives: A Guide to Effective Research Highlighting the Berea College Special Collections and Archives Highlighting the Berea College Special Collections and Archives
This guide familiarizes potential researchers with the functions, purposes, and collections of archives in general and the Berea College Special Collections and Archives (SCA) in particular.
Need Help Analyzing an Archival Item or Record?
Materials created by the National Archives and Records Administration. For more information and resources see: https://www.archives.gov/education/lessons/worksheets
Contact Information
Lori Myers-Steele
Collection Archivist
Berea College Special Collections and Archives
myerssteelel@berea.edu
859.985.3253
- SCA Website
Visit the SCA website
