Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

On the Beauty of Collections

Brian Harnetty (Appalachian Sound Archives Fellow 2006) focused on identifying and analyzing traditional music for incorporation in a large-scale multiple media work entitled 'american winter.'

Audio Highlight

spoken lore

Jane Muncy - Leslie County, Kentucky
"Jack and the Bull Stripe,"
Hyden Elementary School,
10 October 1949.

Leonard Ward Roberts Collection (LR-OR-001-07)

Excerpt 1 from 'american winter'


This is a typical example of how I am approaching much of the material from the Berea Appalachian Sound Archives. The piece combines a field recording of Addie Graham being interviewed and singing “The Lonesome Scenes of Winter” along with an ensemble of instruments: banjo, piano, toy piano, bells, and dulcimer. The instruments create a deliberately sparse, empty ‘field’ of sound, separate from the recordings. They are a loose accompaniment to Addie Graham and something for her voice to push off of, to react against. This allows the listener to hear several layers of sounds, both as a combined effect and each element independently.

Excerpt 2 from an untitled collection of short sound pieces


Part of a collection of sounds from the Berea Appalachian Sound Archives, this short piece is defined by an overlooked and insignificant aspect of a field recording: the chiming of a clock in the background. During an interview of the musician Buell Kazee by Loyal Jones, many ambient sounds are present. The chiming of a clock and the immediate moments that surround it became the structure of the piece. By letting a random but easily distinguishable moment create the framework, fragmented and contrasting text is heard, and the background sounds are placed in the foreground of the listener’s perception.

Excerpt 3 from 'conversations with coal miners and with death'

This is a portion of the sound material presented in a May 2006 appearance at the University of Northern Iowa. I traveled there to perform at their gallery of art (as part of the Fossil Fools art collective). I used old turntables and electronics, making a collage of samples and sounds, including the Maggard Coalmine interviews from Berea and "Conversation with Death" sung by Dellie Norton. The installation portion of the exhibition was a 12-minute loop that included sounds and video. This is the kind of space/environment that would also work well for american winter..

 

Contact Us

For more information about the Sound Archive or access to our collection don't hesitate to contact us directly:

Harry Rice
Sound Archivist
859-985-3249

John H. Bondurant
Sound Preservation
& Access Specialist

Special Collections & Archives
859-985-3262