It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banjo Music Guide
Research guides, collection finding aids, and selected print resources
Fifty-six audio field recordings (1970s) of interviews and performances that document the repertoire and styles of several Kentucky fiddlers, banjo players, and ballad singers mainly from the state’s northeastern region. Tune titles, performer names, and locations are search-able via an in-house database.
Correspondence, photographs, diary photocopies, folk song lyrics, interviews, sound and video recordings documenting the career of North Carolina folk music scholar and festival organizer, Bascom Lamar Lunsford. Tune titles and performer names are searchable via an in-house database and printed index. (10 ms boxes)
One hundred seventy-four (174) audio field recordings (1970s-1990s) of interviews and performances that document the repertoire and playing styles of several dozen Kentucky fiddlers, mainly from the state’s southern and southeastern regions. Tune titles, performer names, and locations are search-able via an in-house database.
Correspondence, articles, photographs, and sound recordings documenting the career, repertoire, and musical talent of Buell Kazee, Kentucky folk singer, banjo player, and Baptist minister. Performance and interview recordings are particularly notable for their extensive documentation of Kazee’s distinctive banjo fingering techniques and tunings. (3 ms boxes)
One-hundred ninety-nine (199) audio field recordings (1970s-1990s) of interviews and performances that document the repertoire and playing styles of several dozen Kentucky fiddlers, mainly from the state’s south-central and northeast regions. Tune titles, performer names, and locations are search-able via an in-house database.
This collection consists mainly of interviews and performances by several traditional musicians and story tellers, their associates, and scholars. The recordings were made during the 1970s by North Carolina folksinger and storyteller, Lee Knight. The geographic area represented is mostly from Kentucky, North Carolina, and South Carolina. A large portion of the collection focuses on banjo players and their repertoires. Included are well known banjoists such as Frank Proffitt, Jr. and Roscoe Holcomb along with several others from North and South Carolina. Other performance styles and instrumentation represented include lap dulcimer, African American singing from Johns Island, South Carolina, African American children’s game songs, Jack tales, and unaccompanied ballad singing. Notable women performers include Malvena Reynolds, Almeda Riddle, Roberta Voyles, and Lily May Ledford. There are also interviews with folk music scholars, Anne and Frank Warner, performer/activists, Guy and Candie Carawan, and country-bluegrass musicians, Bill Monroe, Kenny Baker, Ralph Stanley, and Roy Acuff.e.
Audio field recordings, radio programs, and video interviews documenting the traditional fiddle, banjo, and gospel music heritage of Whitley, McCreary, Knox, and Laurel Counties in the southern Cumberland Plateau region of Kentucky. Collected by 2008 Appalachian Sound Archives Fellow William Sears.