Audio Highlight
Philip Kazee - Magoffin County, Kentucky
"Butcher's Boy" 11-8-1974.
Celebration of Traditional Music Collection, RG 11.08
(AC-OR-005-219-03)
Banjo Music Audio by State
Finding Aids For Berea Banjo Music Collections
- Barbara Kunkle Kentucky Traditional Music Collection , SAA 92
This link opens in a new window
Fifty-six audio field recordings (1970s) of interviews and performances that document the repertoire and styles of several Kentucky fiddlers, banjo players, and ballad singers mainly from the state’s northeastern region. Tune titles, performer names, and locations are search-able via an in-house database. - Bascom Lamar Lunsford Collection, 1874-1973, SAA 29
- This link opens in a new window
Correspondence, photographs, diary photocopies, folk song lyrics, interviews, sound and video recordings documenting the career of North Carolina folk music scholar and festival organizer, Bascom Lamar Lunsford. Tune titles and performer names are searchable via an in-house database and printed index. (10 ms boxes) - Bruce Greene Kentucky Music Collection, SAA 90
- This link opens in a new window
One hundred seventy-four (174) audio field recordings (1970s-1990s) of interviews and performances that document the repertoire and playing styles of several dozen Kentucky fiddlers, mainly from the state’s southern and southeastern regions. Tune titles, performer names, and locations are search-able via an in-house database. - Buell Kazee Collection, 1946-1979, SAA 54
- This link opens in a new window
Correspondence, articles, photographs, and sound recordings documenting the career, repertoire, and musical talent of Buell Kazee, Kentucky folk singer, banjo player, and Baptist minister. Performance and interview recordings are particularly notable for their extensive documentation of Kazee’s distinctive banjo fingering techniques and tunings. (3 ms boxes) - Jim Smoak: A "Hidden Figure" of American Banjo Music
- This link opens in a new window
A guide to the collection and oral history of Jim Smoak by Appalachian Sound Archive Fellow Joe O'Connell - John Harrod Kentucky Collection, SAA 89
- This link opens in a new window
One-hundred ninety-nine (199) audio field recordings (1970s-1990s) of interviews and performances that document the repertoire and playing styles of several dozen Kentucky fiddlers, mainly from the state’s south-central and northeast regions. Tune titles, performer names, and locations are search-able via an in-house database. - Lee Knight Collection, SAA 132
- This link opens in a new window
This collection consists mainly of interviews and performances by several traditional musicians and story tellers, their associates, and scholars. The recordings were made during the 1970s by North Carolina folksinger and storyteller, Lee Knight. The geographic area represented is mostly from Kentucky, North Carolina, and South Carolina. A large portion of the collection focuses on banjo players and their repertoires. - William Sears Home and Field Recordings Collection, SAA 130
- This link opens in a new window
Audio field recordings, radio programs, and video interviews documenting the traditional fiddle, banjo, and gospel music heritage of Whitley, McCreary, Knox, and Laurel Counties in the southern Cumberland Plateau region of Kentucky. Collected by 2008 Appalachian Sound Archives Fellow William Sears.
