It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Appalachian Foodways: Guide
Highlighted SC&A Archival Collections for Appalachian Foodways
This collection consists of interviews recorded between 1975 and 1980 documenting a wide variety of Appalachian traditional crafts, occupations, and expressive culture from areas of Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, North Carolina, Tennessee, and West Virginia.
Collection of fourteen oral history interviews contributing to the documentation of combined food and dance gatherings in eastern Kentucky. The interviewing effort is part of the East Kentucky Food and Dance Trail Program at Hindman Settlement School in Hindman, Kentucky.
This collection consists of seventeen audio recorded interviews that document the practice of scheduling planting, cultivating, and harvesting crops based on moon phases and astrological signs. The interviews were recorded by Dr. Sarah Hall, Associate Professor of Agriculture & Natural Resources in Berea College's Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources.
Meg Wilson was a colaborator and photographer for the project. The interviews were with active gardeners residing in Barren, Clark, Franklin, Gallatin, Harlan, Lee, Letcher, Lincoln, Madison, and Rockcastle counties.
Margaret Dotson Appalachian Counties Community Cookbook Collection
Resources to help with your food & drink history research, including books, manuscript collections, ephemera & digital items. Includes links to resources at Virginia Tech and a number of other institutions.
An online collection of some of the most important and influential American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century. The digital archive includes 76 cookbooks from the MSU Libraries' collection as well as searchable full-text transcriptions.
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Berea College login required.