Related Berea Sound
Archives Fellowship Sites
- Program HistoryLearn more about the Berea College Sound Archives Fellowship program
- Fellows A-Z ListBrowse the list of over 70 fellows
- Fellowship TopicsBrowse the wide variety of topics covered by the Sound Fellows
- Collections Used by FellowsLearn more about the various collections used by Sound Fellows
- Berea Sound ArchivesSearch for digitized recordings by performer, subject, collection, and / or geographical area.
Susan Mills / Boone, North Carolina / 2006-2007 / Topic: Folklore
Project: Susan is the Coordinator of Music Education at Appalachian State University in Boone, North Carolina. Her traditional music involvement started with high school folk dance activities in Pulaski County, Kentucky and eventually included playing bass and piano for folk dance groups and at commercial country and bluegrass venues in Florida. She has taught music at the elementary and middle school level and is presently involved in training other music educators. Beginning in June, her Fellowship work at Berea will focus on the development of Appalachian music teaching resources for elementary and middle school music classes that meet state and national music education standards. These resources will be derived mainly from audio and manuscript materials in Berea’s Leonard Roberts Folklore Collection and be made available through a teaching resources website, journal publications, classroom lecture/demonstrations, and music education in-service workshops.
- Appalachian Songs and Singing Games Project website" This collection of lesson plans was created by Dr. Susan W. Mills, of Appalachian State University, based on the Leonard Ward Roberts Collection at Berea College, in Berea, Kentucky."
- "Bringing the Family Tradition in Bluegrass Music to the Music Classroom"Article in General Music Today, Winter 2009 by Susan Mills.
- "Research to Resources: Appalachian Folklore in the Music Classroom"Article in The ORFF Echo, Winter 2011 by Susan Mills and Lisa Runner.
