Melvin Wine - Video Highlight
Melvin Wine - Braxton County, West Virginia
"All Young," 10-28-1989.
Celebration of Traditional Music, (AC-VT-014-025-20)
Related Berea Sound Archives Sites
- Traditional Music and Spoken Word Performances This link opens in a new windowListen to selected musical performances and storytelling from the Berea Sound Archives.
- Alan Lomax Kentucky CollectionListen to ocumentary sound recordings of rural Kentucky music and lore collected under the auspices of the Archive of American Folk Song at the Library of Congress between 1933 and 1942.
- Oral History Collections GuideBerea's online oral history collections cover a broad range of topics in the areas of Appalachian history and culture, and the history of Berea College. In many instances searchable transcripts accompany the digitized audio recordings.
- Examples of Oral Histories For Use As Primary SourcesSelected interview texts and recordings covering a wide range of topics.
- Sound Recording Analysis WorksheetA teaching / learning resource from the National Archives.
- Sound Archives Research GuidesResearch guides are the work of Archives staff and the College's Sound Archives Fellows. Using audio and video illustrations, the guides cover a wide range of topics.
- Sound Preservation ProgramThe program's focus is on Berea's collections of noncommercial recordings that document Appalachian history and culture and the history of Berea College.
- Berea Sound Archives HomepageBrowse By Topic
Contact the Berea Sound Archives
Erynn Marshall, 2006 Berea Sound Fellow
2006 Appalachian Sound Archive Fellow Erynn Marshall primarily explored eastern Kentucky fiddle styles and song traditions, similar to her 1998 research conducted in West Virginia. She is originally from British Columbia, Canada, and now lives in southwest Virginia. She authored the West Virginia University Press book Music in the Air Somewhere: The Shifting Borders of West Virginia's Fiddle and Song Traditions. Erynn’s work at Berea included transcriptions of fiddle tunes by Hiram Stamper, J.P. Fraley, Santford Kelly and others.
Erynn also interviewed members of the Stamper family and made a number of field recordings, including a heretofore undocumented Old Regular Baptist congregation in Lincoln County. Her fieldwork involved meeting many resident musicians and visiting local, traditional music gatherings in Rockcastle, Garrard, Knox, Pike, Knott and Rowan counties as well as the Berea area.
With banjoist Chris Coole she brought her residency to a close with an on campus concert that included several of the fiddle pieces and tunings she studied while at Berea, as well as a newly composed tune, "Madison County Waltz," inspired by her stay in Madison County, Kentucky.
Tune Transcriptions & Audio
All Young (PDF) As played by Melvin Wine, Braxton County, West Virginia. Feed My Horse Corn and Hay( (PDF) - As played by Buddy Thomas, Lewis County, KY. Flannery's Dream (PDF) - As played by Santford Kelly, Lawrence County, KY. Glory In The Meeting House (PDF) - As played by Hiram Stamper at age 93, Knott County, KY. Paddy Won't You Drink Some Good Old Cider (PDF) - As played by Clyde Davenport, Wayne County, KY. Winds of Shiloh (PDF) - As composed and played by J.P. Fraley, Carter County, KY. Madison County Waltz (PDF) - As composed and played by Erynn Marshall in Madison County, KY.
1989 Berea College Celebration of Traditional Music. AC-OR-005-435
1973, Barbara Kunkle Collection, BK-OR-005-001.
John Harrod Collection, JH-CT-039-01-A-01.
Recorded August 24, 1985 by Marynell Young, SC-VD-022-001.
Copy from Morehead State University Vintage Fiddlers Collection.
John Harrod Collection, JH-CT-017-04-A-09.
Barbara Kunkle Collection, AC-CT-426-003-B-01.
Recorded by Erynn Marshall in Berea, KY, June 2006..
