Library Homepage: Dr. Rebecca Bates History 200 Fall 2023: Print Finding Aid

Print Indexes

Paper indexes remain important research tools. Many databases do not provide extensive coverage before the 1980's. The best tool for finding poplar and academic articles before this time frame is Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature. Paper indexes are not as fast or sexy as online materials, but they are easily learned and used. After using them two or three times, you are a pro! Remember, you can consult the full text Journals Available link to gain access to print holdings. The link to 19th Century Periodicals on Websites and Online books page is a helpful resource. Our paper indexes provide access into the early 1800's. JSTOR is the exception in that it provides coverage starting with the first volume.Not sure how to find an article in a print journal volume, ask us at the reference desk

R 0176.97 W956
Writings on American History (1902 - 1979)
For many years this was the standard tool for discovering works on American history. Both the general reader and the academic would have found this an useful tool. While now neglected, Writings should be consulted for the early 20the century. It is an excellent resource for locating local and county histories.
Readers Guide to Periodical Literature (1890 to 2008)
Periodical R
Reader's Guide was the mainstay for finding journal and magazine articles in public and school libraries during the 20th century. While popular magazines dominated the Guide, academic journals are included.
Poole’s Index to Periodical Literature (1802 to 1906)
Index P
Poole's was the first major print index used in finding magazine articles. This is the best resource for locating articles from the 19th Century. Hutchins does have a modest collection of 19C magazines that is supplemented with online holdings from the Library of Congress. Both British and American publications are indexed.
Essay and General Literature Index EGLI (1900 – 2003)
R 040 E78
Essays collections have a long association with academic research. This work provides access to chapter and essay literature included in selected essay collections. EGLI is a unique resource that is often over looked. Bear in mind many online databases do not include essay or chapter literature. Many edited collection were purchased due to their inclusion in EGLI. So it should not be surprising that EGLI remains a useful resource.