Library Homepage: ENG 103: Robillard: Newspapers

Local Newspapers

Many Americans still enjoy reading print editions of newspapers. Hutchins Library subscribes to these newspapers, and they are available for student use. The newspapers are located in the lobby on the main floor as you enter the Library.

Berea Citizen
The Citizen is the Berea’s newspaper that covers local events and is published once a week on Thursdays. It is a typical small town American weekly newspaper.
Richmond Register
This paper reports news from Richmond, Eastern Kentucky University, Berea and Madison County. The Register is published daily.
Lexington Herald Leader
This daily paper provides news about Lexington, along with state, national, and international news. It provides strong coverage for the University of Kentucky sports program.

Newspaper Websites

These websites provide quick access to selected newspaper articles, blogs, breaking news stories and information about their communities. They will not contain all the articles in the newspaper, and some publishers limit the number of articles you can read for free. Many newspaper websites have large number of ads.

National Newspapers: Database Access

Christian Science Monitor
Founded in 1908, The Christian Science Monitor has established a reputation for being fair, factual and impartial in its coverage. The Monitor focuses on national and international news. In 2008, the paper dropped its traditional daily print edition for an extensive online edition and an in depth weekly news magazine. Along the way the paper has won seven Pulitzer Prizes and dozen plus Overseas Press Club Awards.

New York Times (1980 - Current)
Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper through the ProQuest database. The complete text of recent articles is provided in the ASCII format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format. The New York Times is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches, and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history.

USA Today
USA Today is printed five days a week. The Friday paper serves as the weekend edition. While not as comprehensive as the New York Times or the Wall Street Journal, USA today is a very popular newspaper. Sports and entertainment are well covered.
Wall Street Journal
The Journal is widely known for its business and economic coverage of both American and World business scene. The paper's international news reporting is also noteworthy and goes beyond economic matters. Currently the Wall Street Journal has the largest circulation of any newspaper in the United States. The WSJ has a strong online presence.