Library Homepage: hooks, bell: Celebrating Scholarship and Creative Works

bell hooks speaks at the official dedication of her papers to Berea College in April 2017. Photo by Bethany Faith Posey ’19 for Berea College Marketing and Communications

bell hooks featured in The Chronicle of Higher Education in May 1995.

In 2020, TIME Magazine selected bell hooks as one of its 100 Women of the Year. In 1984, hooks published Feminist Theory: From Margin to Center, in which she critiques mainstream white feminism for excluding the voices of women of color.

bell hooks signs books following her induction into the Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame in 2018. Photo by Tom Eblen/Lexington Herald-Leader

bell hooks shares the Sept./Oct. 1993 cover of Ms. with noted feminist writers and activists. Reprinted by permission of Ms. Magazine, © 1993

bell hooks stands with Cornel West during his 2016 visit to the bell hooks Institute. Photo by Angeletta K. Gourdine

At Berea College from 2004 - 2021

The Life of bell hooks

"Escolarizando homens negros"
Hooks, Bell. Revista Estudos Feministas, 23/3 (2015). 677-689.
"Language. teaching new worlds, new words"
Hooks, Bell. Revista Estudos Feministas, 16/3 (2008). 857-864.

Letting Go by Donna King (Editor); Catherine G. Valentine (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2015
"Dig deep: Beyond lean in" by bell hooks
Beauvoir and Western Thought from Plato to Butler by Mussett Wilkerson; Shannon M. Mussett (Editor); William S. Wilkerson (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2013
"True philosophers: Beauvoir and bell" by bell hooks
Feminist Solidarity at the Crossroads by Kim Marie Vaz (Editor); Gary L. Lemons (Editor)
Call Number: 305.4207 F3295 2012 - BC Scholarship Collection (3rd Floor)
Publication Date: 2013
"Heart to heart: Teaching with love" by bell hooks
Appalachian Elegy by Bell Hooks Author, activist, feminist, teacher, and artist bell hooks is celebrated as one of the nation's leading intellectuals. Born in Hopkinsville, Kentucky, hooks drew her unique pseudonym from the name of her grandmother, an intelligent and strong-willed African American woman who inspired her to stand up against a dominating and repressive society. Her poetry, novels, memoirs, and children's books reflect her Appalachian upbringing and feature her struggles with racially integrated schools and unwelcome authority figures. One of Utne Reader's "100 Visionaries Who Can Change Your Life," hooks has won wide acclaim from critics and readers alike. In Appalachian Elegy, bell hooks continues her work as an imagist of life's harsh realities in a collection of poems inspired by her childhood in the isolated hills and hidden hollows of Kentucky. At once meditative, confessional, and political, this poignant volume draws the reader deep into the experience of living in Appalachia. Touching on such topics as the marginalization of its people and the environmental degradation it has suffered over the years, hooks's poetry quietly elegizes the slow loss of an identity while also celebrating that which is constant, firmly rooted in a place that is no longer whole.
Call Number: 821.92 H784a 2012 c. 2 (Location: BC Scholarship Collection
Publication Date: 2012
Writing Beyond Race by Bell Hooks What are the conditions needed for our nation to bridge cultural and racial divides? By "writing beyond race," noted cultural critic bell hooks models the constructive ways scholars, activists, and readers can challenge and change systems of domination. In the spirit of previous classics like Outlaw Culture and Reel to Real, this new collection of compelling essays interrogates contemporary cultural notions of race, gender, and class. From the films Precious and Crash to recent biographies of Malcolm X and Henrietta Lacks, hooks offers provocative insights into the way race is being talked about in this "post-racial" era.
Call Number: 305.8009 H784w 2013 - Special Collections (Berea Collection)
Publication Date: 2012
Teaching Critical Thinking by Bell Hooks In Teaching Critical Thinking, renowned cultural critic and progressive educator bell hooks addresses some of the most compelling issues facing teachers in and out of the classroom today. In a series of short, accessible, and enlightening essays, hooks explores the confounding and sometimes controversial topics that teachers and students have urged her to address since the publication of the previous best-selling volumes in her Teaching series, Teaching to Transgressand Teaching Community.The issues are varied and broad, from whether meaningful teaching can take place in a large classroom setting to confronting issues of self-esteem. One professor, for example, asked how black female professors can maintain positive authority in a classroom without being seen through the lens of negative racist, sexist stereotypes. One teacher asked how to handle tears in the classroom, while another wanted to know how to use humor as a tool for learning. Addressing questions of race, gender, and class in this work, hooks discusses the complex balance that allows us to teach, value, and learn from works written by racist and sexist authors. Highlighting the importance of reading, she insists on the primacy of free speech, a democratic education of literacy. Throughout these essays, she celebrates the transformative power of critical thinking. This is provocative, powerful, and joyful intellectual work. It is a must read for anyone who is at all interested in education today.
Call Number: 370.152 H784t 2010 - BC Scholarship Collection (3rd floor)
Publication Date: 2010
Belonging by Bell Hooks
Call Number: 305.488 H784be 2009 c. 2 - BC Scholarship Collection (3rd Floor)
Publication Date: 2008
Grump Groan Growl by Bell Hooks; Chris Raschka (Illustrator)
Call Number: H7842gr 2008- Children's Section
Publication Date: 2008
Etiquette by Ron Scapp; Brian Seitz
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2007
"A place where the soul can rest" by bell hooks
Skin Again by Bell Hooks; Chris Raschka (Illustrator)
Call Number: H7842gr 2008- Children's Book
Publication Date: 2004
We real cool Black men and masculinity by Bell Hooks. by Bell Hooks
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2003