What is it?
Started in 1914 as a separate collection in the Berea College Library and given the name Weatherford-Hammond in 1964, Berea’s Mountain collection of published works on the Appalachian region is a resource of great importance and significance. A collection that cannot be easily duplicated, it is the pioneer or parent collection of printed sources and research materials on Southern Appalachia. The collection was named after W.D. Weatherford, Sr., who served Berea College for 50 years as a trustee, and his friend and co-sponsor William A. Hammond, a businessman from Xenia, Ohio. Through the endowed fund, which they established in 1964, the library seeks to acquire for this collection books and other printed materials on all aspects of the history and culture of the region, including both newly published and available out-of-print works. Today there are over 18,000 volumes in the collection. The Weatherford-Hammond Mountain Collection is the oldest Appalachian collection in the world, and represents nearly a century of the College’s efforts to collect and preserve Appalachian materials.
How do I find it?
In the stacks, there are three different locations for items in the Mountain Collection: Mountain by Dewey, Mountain periodical, and Mountain oversize. All items in this collection have Mt. on the call number sticker.
The majority of the items in this collection are in Dewey Decimal order on the "Mountain" shelves.
Mountain Periodicals are housed on a separate shelf in alphabetical order by journal title. Some of these items still have call numbers on them, but you should disregard that when looking for an item.
Finally, some items in this collection are too large to fit on regular sized shelves and are housed on the "Mountain Oversize" shelf. Items stored here will have an Oversize sticker above the call number. They are organized in Dewey order.
