Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Materials in Special Collections and Archives

What items are kept in Special Collections and Archives?

There are several different "collections" housed within Special Collections and Archives in two different categories: published materials collections and archival collections.


Published Materials Collection

This collection contains books, pamphlets, and other print materials. This category is broken further down into 4 distinct collections:

  1. Weather-Hammond MOUNTAIN Collection
  2. BEREA Collection
  3. Abraham LINCOLN Collection
  4. CURIO Collection.

Materials in the aforementioned collections each have special markings above the call number to differentiate them from other collections and circulating print materials.


Archival Collections

The archives collects, preserves, organizes, describes, and makes accessible to researchers records, documents, manuscripts, papers, photographs, and non-commercial sound and visual recordings, including oral histories.

The archives are broken further down into 5 distinct collections

  • Berea College Archives - BCA
  • Berea College Photo Archives - BCA PA - 1/2 black dot
  • Southern Appalachian Archives - SAA
  • Historical Collection - HC 
  • Appalchain Sound Archives  
  • Vertical Files  VF
    • BCA - Vertical Files
    • BCA - Appalachian Vertical Files
    • BCA - News Bureau - Public Relations
    • SAA - Berea City Vertical Files
    • SAA - Berea College Vertical Files
    • SAA - Coal Vertical files
    • SAA -  Appalachian Biographies Vertical Files