Archives Appendix

The above policy states the specifications for food and drink use in the main library. However, food and drink are not allowed in Special Collections and Archives. This is to protect the fragile and rare materials in our collections.

The following regulations are designed to ensure equitable and reliable access to library materials. Copies of the full Circulation Policy are available at Hutchins Library and on the library’s Web site at www.berea.edu/hutchinslibrary.

Students use their bar-coded Student Identification card in order to check out or renew materials from Hutchins Library. No materials will be checked out or renewed without this personal identification card. Students are responsible for all materials checked out on their cards.

Berea College students working on course assignments have priority in the use of Hutchins Library computers.

Theft, misuse, or damage of materials will result in disciplinary measures against those responsible. Reports of any violations will be sent to the Director of Library Services (CPO LIB or ext. 3266) for appropriate action.

Patrons are not allowed to check out materials from Special Collections and Archives. However, they may request for the item to be put on hold for them. After approval by Sharyn Mitchell, the material will be taken to the Circulation Desk for the patron to use in the library only.

Berea College, in light of its mission in the tradition of "impartial love" and social equality, welcomes "all peoples of the earth" to learn and work here. It is the policy of Berea College not to discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national or ethnic origin, age, sex, handicap, or sexual orientation in its educational programs, admissions practices, scholarship and loan programs, athletics and other school-administered activities or employment practices. This policy is in compliance with the requirements of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title IX of the Educational Amendments of 1972, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, regulations of the Internal Revenue Service, and all other applicable federal, state and local statutes, ordinances and regulations. (As adopted by the Board of Trustees, February 2001.)

Questions or complaints regarding discrimination should be referred to the office or committee responsible for the activity concerned. In addition, the College has appointed compliance officers under provision of law regarding sex and handicap discrimination. The Vice President for Operations and Sustainability is Section 504 Coordinator. Questions or complaints in the area of handicap discrimination should be referred to Derrick Singleton in 230 Lincoln Hall, at 859-985-3131. Sex discrimination questions or complaints may be directed to a Title VII/Title IX Coordinator by phone 859-228-2323 or by email TitleIX@berea.edu.

Rules and General Information for Researchers

The Berea College Library Special Collections and Archives Department possesses unusual strengths in the area of special collections, rare books, archives, manuscripts, and audio-visual resources. Because of the unique and irreplaceable nature of these materials, they must be used under close supervision and are subject to certain restrictions.

1. REGISTRATION - Researchers must complete a registration card. Make sure your contact information is legible. This information will be used for statistical purposes and to complete your requests for additional information. Your card will be kept on file and updated annually. The information will not be shared online or publicly.

2. FOOD and DRINKS - Smoking, eating, and drinking are not permitted.

3. PROHIBITED EQUIPMENT - Briefcases, portfolios, books, purses, coats, etc., must be left in lockers or in the reception area. Only your note-taking paper/equipment may be taken into the Research Room.

4. NOTE-TAKING EQUIPMENT - Pencils, typewriter, personal computer, cameras, or recording devices may be used for taking notes. The use of pens is not allowed. Pencils are provided for your use.

5. READING ROOM - Special Collections and Archives has a "closed stacks" policy - A staff member will assist you in obtaining materials related to your research topic. Research materials must be used in the Reading Room and must be checked back in before leaving the department. No person will be allowed access to the stacks area of Special Collections except by special permission.

6. SOUND ARCHIVES - Special assistance may be needed when using the Sound Archives. Please ask for assistance with use of audio visual and digital materials.

7. USE of BOOKS - If you need help obtaining the Call Number, ask for assistance with BANC, our library catalog. Certain types of books can be placed on reserve at the Reserve Desk on the main floor of the library for night-time or weekend use. If this service is desired, ask the attendant for permission and instructions. Rare or fragile books are never placed on reserve. Reserve requests cannot be placed within a 1/2 hour of closing.

8. USE of MANUSCRIPTS and ARCHIVAL MATERIALS - Only one box is to be used at a time. Remove only one folder at a time. Do not remove items from the folders, even if you wish to have them photocopied. The exact order and arrangement of papers must be maintained. If you find material out of order, call it to the attention of a staff member. Do not rearrange items yourself.

9. HANDLING of BOOKS and MATERIALS -  No marks or erasures are to be made on the materials and no objects may be placed on them. Do not lean on materials or write on paper laid on them. Tracing of materials is not allowed. The laying of open books face down is prohibited. Extreme care should be used in handling fragile items. Some materials require special procedures for use.

~ ~ ~

The Library reserves the right to inspect before the researcher leaves Special Collections and Archives.

The Berea College Hutchins Library is not responsible for lost or stolen items.

Staff Guidelines for Photocopy Requests

1. For each photocopy request, a photocopy slip must be filled out and placed with the material to be copied in the folder. Materials should not be removed from the folder by the researcher.
    
2. Do not copy any work that would result in damage to the material.
    
3. Make single copies only for patrons; no multiple copies are permitted.
    
4. Limit copying to 50 copies per day per patron (both books and archival materials).
    
5. Most U.S. Government publications and state government publications may be copied freely because they are not copyrighted.
    
6. Any book published before 1916 may be copied freely, even in its entirety.
    
7. Copy no more than 25% of a book published after 1916.
    
8. The full text of a short work (pamphlet, booklet, etc.) can be copied only with the authorization of the Director or the archivist.
    
9. Generally, only one article from a journal or magazine published within the last five years should be copied; more may be copied provided the total number of copies does not exceed 25% of the entire issue of the journal or magazine. Larger portions may be copied of journals and magazines that are more than five years old.
    
10. No sheet music may be copied.
     
11. The first page of copied material from published works (or unpublished works from the book collections) should be stamped with the statement: “Notice: This material may be protected by copyright law (Title 17 U.S. Code).” The front page should also be stamped with the statement: “Reference Use Only. Copy is from archives of Berea College. Permission to use is not permission to publish.” Newspaper clippings should not be stamped at all.
     
12. Do not hesitate to advise a researcher that he or she may have to pick up copies at a later time.
     
13. Copies are $0.10 per page.
     
14. Copy requests can also be sent to patrons via the U.S. Postal Service for a fee.

Staff Guidelines for Scanning Requests

1. For each digital copy request, a digital copy request slip must be filled out and placed with the material to be copied in the folder. Materials should not be removed from the folder by the researcher.
    
2. At least one slip must contain instructions for resolution and formatting. All scans will be formatted according to these instructions unless otherwise marked.
    
3. Scans require at least seven business days to complete. If scans are not issued at that point, researchers are encouraged to contact us.
    
4. At least one of the copy request slips must include instructions for delivering scans (i.e. an email address, CD, etc.)
    
5. The fee will be $0.10 per scan if sent by email with an additional $3.00 for copies on a CD. U.S. Postal Service fees are also considered.

POLICY ON PHOTOCOPYING AND SCANS

WARNING - The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material.

Copyright restrictions - Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement.

This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law.

Copies are provided solely for the purpose of private study, scholarship, or research. They may not be further reproduced, given to another person, or made available to another institution. The archives reserves the right to require that copies be returned when the user's research is finished.

Permission to obtain photocopies is not permission to publish materials. It is the responsibility of the researcher to secure permission to publish material in the archives and to adhere to laws on copyright and literary property rights.

Any material used implicitly or by quotation must be credited to the source, the collection, and the archives.

Copying is a service to the patron, and the charge for copying is exclusively for such service.

Do not remove items to be copied from their proper location: The staff will provide copy slip/markers to identify materials to be copied. Ask for these markers and an explanation of procedures for copying.

• PHOTOCOPIES AND SCANS - To copy archival manuscript material, a photocopy request form must be filled out and signed. Copies and scans are subject to some restriction. The department may refuse copying because of the physical condition of the material, special restrictions of the archives, the donor, or copyright laws. It may not be possible to fill on-demand requests for numerous copies which require substantial amounts of staff times. Arrangements can be made for the staff to copy material later and mail or send it electronically. The amount of copying may be limited at the discretion of the archives or the donor. Ask the attendant for instructions.
• CITE YOUR SOURCE - In citing materials used, please cite the full name of the collections and of the archives.
• PERMISSION TO USE - It is the responsibility of the researcher to secure permission to publish material from the archives. Federal copyright law protects unpublished as well as published works. Permission to examine materials does not include permission to publish them. Consult with the archivists on this matter.
• CLOSING TIME - Researchers should stop work ten minutes before closing time in order for materials to be checked in. 

The Library reserves the right to inspect materials before the researcher leaves Special Collections and Archives.

The Berea College Hutchins Library is not responsible for lost or stolen items.