Topic Overviews
-
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowStudents can dive deeper with periodical content that covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
-
It gives you an overview.
Each topic page summarizes the issue in plain language so you can quickly understand the background before diving into scholarly sources. -
It shows multiple perspectives.
You can see arguments from different sides of an issue in one place. This helps you figure out where your own position might fit and how to support it. -
It connects you to reliable sources.
The database includes magazine and newspaper articles, academic journals, videos, statistics, and reference works—all vetted for credibility. You can cite them directly or use them to guide your next search. -
It helps you build strong arguments.
Seeing how others support their positions helps you learn how to use evidence, anticipate counterarguments, and make your paper more persuasive. -
It saves time.
Instead of sorting through random Google results, Opposing Viewpoints gathers trustworthy, college-level materials in one place—organized by topic.
Academic Journals
To ensure you retrieve scholarly, peer-reviewed articles when you search, limit your search results to "scholarly" and "peer-reviewed"
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowEthnic NewsWatch™, the current file, covers 1990 to present and includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The publications offer both national and regional coverage. Ethnic NewsWatch™ is the only current database devoted to presenting multi-ethnic and multi-cultural publications in one resource. Coverage begins in 1990 and is updated daily with new content. Many of the titles are not found in any other aggregated resource.
Published Books
How do you find books at Hutchins?
-
Hutchins Library CatalogA link to our library catalog, where you can search for print books, ebooks, streaming videos, DVDs, and journal articles from 34 of our 134 databases!
Finding Credible Websites with Google Advanced Search
What are academic websites?
A website created by an academic institution (or their faculty) that addresses specific areas of research. This is NOT the same as a peer-reviewed article found in an online database.
What are government websites?
A type of website created and designed for a government entity to communicate accurate governmental data, facts, statistics, and information members to the public.
How do you find these sites?
Use Google's Advanced Search Feature to limit your results to only these sites by searching for sites ending in the extensions ".edu" or ".gov"
-
Google Advanced SearchLimit your search to a specific domain.
For this assignment, limit your results to the domain ".edu" to insure that you only receive academic sites.