Hinduism Spring 2025

This 15-volume set is the standard reference work for religion. If you cannot find it here, you may not need to know it. While the encyclopedia uses an A-to-Z format, you will find the index volume helpful. Many students will prefer the online version over the traditional print. There are bibliographies, and the cross referencing is excellent.

This encyclopedia volume includes provides some 600 A-to-Z entries addressing such topics as theological concepts, personalities, historical events, institutions, and movements inside Hinduism. Also included are further readings, a bibliography, an index, and black-and-white photographs. This work provides a solid stating point.

The Encyclopedia of Hinduism contains over 900 articles ranging from 150 to 5,000-words. This is a behemoth work covering most aspects of Hinduism. The publisher states it is accessible to all levels of readers, even those without previous knowledge.. There is a focus on contemporary material. The volume is cross-referenced, and the longer entries have bibliographies. There is a full index.

With 2,800 entries this work covers major aspects of Hinduism over a 3,500-year time frame. It features alphabetical organization, along with maps, chronology, primary sources, and suggested readings. Features excellent cross referencing.

Each volume touches on such issues as the right to life, the rights of women, punishment for crimes, war and peace, slavery, violence, and other topics related to human rights. They provide primary sources to document the history of thought on the subject within each religion. Biographical sketches and annotated bibliographies offer excellent resources for further study.

Rather than a regular reference book Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Religion and Social Justice provides a collection of essays on major religions and social justice including two concerning Hinduism.

This encyclopedia presumes the reader has no prior knowledge of the subject which makes it ideal for many users. The volume uses A to Z formatting, provides an index, along with suggested readings, and cross referencing.

The Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy is an essay collection rather than an A to Z reference work. It also offers an index and features a glossary.

This encyclopedia provides a record of the history, geography, politics, culture and peoples of Asia. The 3000 signed articles include 1200 biographies.

Volume one provides several extensive essays examining various aspects of the Hindu diaspora in North America. If you are research Hinduism in the America this is a good starting place.

Provides a comprehensive account of women's religious experience set in a historical and cultural context written from a wide range of perspectives, including Hinduism.