Why Use Books?
Books are useful for in-depth information, including: historical context, overview, synthesis and analysis of information.
Often a chapter or two, rather then the entire book, are all that may be relevant for your topic.
Engineering Books and Handbooks
In engineering, original research is usually published in articles rather than books. However, books can still be important resources for engineers. The library has a large number of engineering books, some in print format but increasingly online.
Book Series and Article Collections
Some books are parts of series, with new volumes in a series published on a regular (or semi-regular) basis. Some book series are very similar to academic journals, and each volume is a collection of original research papers (some stand-alone books are also collections of papers). In other book series, each volume give an in-depth look at a particular subject.
Textbooks
Textbooks are written for use in classes, but can often be the best introduction to a topic. This is especially true of textbooks aimed at graduate level classes. A good textbook will give an overview of the current knowledge of a topic, and include references for deeper study.
Handbooks
Handbooks are a special kind of book aimed at working professionals. A handbook summarizes best practices in a field, providing tables of data, checklists of procedures, definitions, formulas, and other information a professional needs for their job.
Popular Books
These books are "popular" in the sense of not being academic or technical. They can include histories of engineering, memoirs and biographies of engineers, and other accounts of engineering as a profession.
Online and Print Books
The Design of Everyday Things by Call Number: 620.82 N842d 2013ISBN: 9780465050659Publication Date: 2013-11-05One of the world's great designers shares his vision of "the fundamental principles of great and meaningful design", that's "even more relevant today than it was when first published" (Tim Brown, CEO, IDEO). Even the smartest among us can feel inept as we fail to figure out which light switch or oven burner to turn on, or whether to push, pull, or slide a door. The fault, argues this ingenious -- even liberating -- book, lies not in ourselves, but in product design that ignores the needs of users and the principles of cognitive psychology. The problems range from ambiguous and hidden controls to arbitrary relationships between controls and functions, coupled with a lack of feedback or other assistance and unreasonable demands on memorization. The Design of Everyday Things shows that good, usable design is possible. The rules are simple: make things visible, exploit natural relationships that couple function and control, and make intelligent use of constraints. The goal: guide the user effortlessly to the right action on the right control at the right time. The Design of Everyday Things is a powerful primer on how -- and why -- some products satisfy customers while others only frustrate them.
Applied Plastics Engineering Handbook by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780323390408Publication Date: 2016-10-04Applied Plastics Engineering Handbook: Processing, Materials, and Applications, Second Edition, covers both the polymer basics that are helpful to bring readers quickly up-to-speed if they are not familiar with a particular area of plastics processing and the recent developments that enable practitioners to discover which options best fit their requirements. New chapters added specifically cover polyamides, polyimides, and polyesters. Hot topics such as 3-D printing and smart plastics are also included, giving plastics engineers the information they need to take these embryonic technologies and deploy them in their own work. With the increasing demands for lightness and fuel economy in the automotive industry (not least due to CAFÉ standards), plastics will soon be used even further in vehicles. A new chapter has been added to cover the technology trends in this area, and the book has been substantially updated to reflect advancements in technology, regulations, and the commercialization of plastics in various areas. Recycling of plastics has been thoroughly revised to reflect ongoing developments in sustainability of plastics. Extrusion processing is constantly progressing, as have the elastomeric materials, fillers, and additives which are available. Throughout the book, the focus is on the engineering aspects of producing and using plastics. The properties of plastics are explained, along with techniques for testing, measuring, enhancing, and analyzing them. Practical introductions to both core topics and new developments make this work equally valuable for newly qualified plastics engineers seeking the practical rules-of-thumb they don't teach you in school and experienced practitioners evaluating new technologies or getting up-to-speed in a new field.
Mechanical Design Engineering Handbook by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780080977591Publication Date: 2013-09-24Mechanical Design Engineering Handbook is a straight-talking and forward-thinking reference covering the design, specification, selection, use and integration of machine elements fundamental to a wide range of engineering applications. Develop or refresh your mechanical design skills in the areas of bearings, shafts, gears, seals, belts and chains, clutches and brakes, springs, fasteners, pneumatics and hydraulics, amongst other core mechanical elements, and dip in for principles, data and calculations as needed to inform and evaluate your on-the-job decisions. Covering the full spectrum of common mechanical and machine components that act as building blocks in the design of mechanical devices, Mechanical Design Engineering Handbook also includes worked design scenarios and essential background on design methodology to help you get started with a problem and repeat selection processes with successful results time and time again. This practical handbook will make an ideal shelf reference for those working in mechanical design across a variety of industries and a valuable learning resource for advanced students undertaking engineering design modules and projects as part of broader mechanical, aerospace, automotive and manufacturing programs.
Philosophy of Technology and Engineering Sciences by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780444516671Publication Date: 2009-08-20The Handbook Philosophy of Technology and Engineering Sciences addresses numerous issues in the emerging field of the philosophy of those sciences that are involved in the technological process of designing, developing and making of new technical artifacts and systems. These issues include the nature of design, of technological knowledge, and of technical artifacts, as well as the toolbox of engineers. Most of these have thus far not been analyzed in general philosophy of science, which has traditionally but inadequately regarded technology as mere applied science and focused on physics, biology, mathematics and the social sciences.
AutoCAD 2023 Beginning and Intermediate by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781683928478Publication Date: 2022-06-13This book is the most comprehensive book you will find on AutoCAD 2023 - 2D Drafting. Covering all of the 2D concepts, it uses both metric and imperial units to illustrate the myriad drawing and editing tools for this popular application. Use the companion disc to set up drawing exercises and projects and see all of the book's figures in color. AutoCAD 2023 Beginning and Intermediateincludes over 100 exercises or "mini-workshops," that complete small projects from concept through actual plotting. Solving all of the workshops will simulate the creation of three projects (architectural and mechanical) from beginning to end, without overlooking any of the basic commands and functions in AutoCAD 2023. Features: Covers only the basics and uses both metric and imperial units to illustrate the myriad tools for this popular application Companion files can be used to set up in-text drawing exercises and projects and to see the book's figures in color Helps you to prepare for the AutoCAD Certified Professional exam- Machine Drawing byCall Number: E-BookISBN: 9388818423Publication Date: 2020There are many areas of Mechanical Engineering more diverse and powerful and one of the area is Mechanical Drawing with a broader and richer history. From history, root has been traced from design sketches, complicated to understand, of Leonardo–di–Vinci to the cave of ancient humans in form of paintings, as simple as child's sketch, on cave's wall. From fundamental questions of Mechanical Engineering drawing to the drawing the assembly and disassembly, the Mechanical Engineering drawing remains at the forefront of today's teaching.
Introductory Engineering Graphics by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781947083608Publication Date: 2018-06-01Introductory Engineering Graphics concentrates on the main concepts and principles of technical graphics. The chapters and topics are organized in a sequence that makes learning a gradual transition from one level to another. However, each chapter is presented in a self-contained manner and may be studied separately. Chapter 1 discusses guidelines for drafting and Chapter 2 presents the principles and techniques for creating standard multiview drawings. Chapter 3 discusses auxiliary view creation, whereas Chapter 4 focuses on section view creation. Basic dimensioning is covered in Chapter 5. Isometric pictorials are presented in Chapter 6. Working drawings are covered in Chapter 7 and the Appendices provide introductory discussions about screw fasteners, general and geometric tolerancing, and surface quality and symbols. The book is designed as a material for instruction and study for students and instructors of engineering, engineering technology, and design technology. It should be useful to technical consultants, design project managers, CDD managers, design supervisors, design engineers, and everyone interested in learning the fundamentals of design drafting. The book is in accord with current standards of American National Standards Institute/American Society for Mechanical Engineers (ANSI/ASME). Its principal goal is meeting the needs of first- and second-year students in engineering, engineering technology, design technology, and related disciplines.
Reduce Your Engineering Drawing Errors by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781606502105Publication Date: 2010-05-15Learning what the most common errors are in creating or reading engineering drawings-and then learning how to avoid them altogether-has untold benefits for all engineers, technicians and draftsmen, be they mechanical engineers, product designers, manufacturing engineers, structural engineers, machinists, or others involved the technical graphic information for component, machines and systems. Based on a reference worked developed for engineers and technicians at Lockheed Martin, readers will find invaluable tips on: -- How to Understand The data on a drawing -- How to avoid dimension and tolerance errors -- How to select the proper drawing type for a given engineering objective.
Case Studies in Engineering Design by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780340691359Publication Date: 1998-06-26A multidisciplinary introduction to engineering design using real-life case studies.Case Studies in Engineering Design provides students and practising engineers with many practical and accessible case studies which are representative of situations engineers face in professional life, and which incorporate a range of engineering disciplines. Different methodologies of approaching engineering design are identified and explained prior to their application in the case studies. The case studies have been chosen from real-life engineering design projects and aim to expose students to a wide variety of design activities and situations, including those that have incomplete, or imperfect, information. This book encourages the student to be innovative, to try new ideas, whilst not losing sight of sound and well-proven engineering practice.
Protecting Your Ideas by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780121384104Publication Date: 1998-10-15Intellectual property law is currently exploding, as demonstrated by the growth of technology transfer offices in universities. More and more scientists, companies, and institutions are rushing to secure intellectual property rights for their ideas and inventions. This process frustrates many people; patent laws are constantly changing, and most books about them are either overly technical or boring. Protecting Your Ideas: The Inventor's Guide to Patents is a succinct, straightforward guide to the system. This guide presents the steps involved in obtaining patent protection for inventions. It is easy to read and brimming with essential information and advice compounded from FAQs posed by the author's academic and industrial clientele. The text includes tips, warnings, and examples that guide the reader through the invention process so patent rights are not jeopardized. Checklists and other helpful information are provided to assist the inventor preparing to enter the patent process. The book includes valuable resource information and business guidance to protect the inventor from consumer fraud that is sometimes associated with the patent process. Protecting and Idea is a must read for every engineer, scientist, or amateur inventor.
Design Engineering by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780750652117Publication Date: 2001-08-21A core text for first year modules in Design Engineering offering student-centred learning based in real-life engineering practice. Design Engineering provides all the essential information an engineering student needs in preparation for real-life engineering practice. The authors take a uniquely student-centred approach to the subject, with easily accessible material introduced through case studies, assignments and knowledge-check questions. This book is carefully designed to be used on a wide range of introductory courses at first degree and HND level. The interactive style of the book brings the subjects to life with activities and case studies rather than devoting hundreds of pages to theory. Key numerical and statistical techniques are introduced through Maths in Action panels located within the main text. The content has been carefully matched to a variety of first year degree modules from IEng and other BSc Engineering and Technology courses. Lecturers will find the breadth of material covered gears the book towards a flexible style of use, which can be tailored to their syllabus. This essential text is part of the IIE accredited textbook series from Newnes - textbooks to form the strong practical, business and academic foundations for the professional development of tomorrow's incorporated engineers. Forthcoming lecturer support materials and the IIE textbook series website will provide additional material for handouts and assessment, plus the latest web links to support, and update case studies in the book.
Emotional Design: Why We Love (or Hate) Everyday Things by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 0465051367Publication Date: 2005-05-11Why attractive things work better and other crucial insights into human-centered design Emotions are inseparable from how we humans think, choose, and act. In Emotional Design, cognitive scientist Don Norman shows how the principles of human psychology apply to the invention and design of new technologies and products. In The Design of Everyday Things, Norman made the definitive case for human-centered design, showing that good design demanded that the user's must take precedence over a designer's aesthetic if anything, from light switches to airplanes, was going to work as the user needed. In this book, he takes his thinking several steps farther, showing that successful design must incorporate not just what users need, but must address our minds by attending to our visceral reactions, to our behavioral choices, and to the stories we want the things in our lives to tell others about ourselves. Good human-centered design isn't just about making effective tools that are straightforward to use; it's about making affective tools that mesh well with our emotions and help us express our identities and support our social lives. From roller coasters to robots, sports cars to smart phones, attractive things work better. Whether designer or consumer, user or inventor, this book is the definitive guide to making Norman's insights work for you.
The Psychology of Design by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780765647603Publication Date: 2015-08-10Design plays an increasingly larger role today in creating consumer desire for products and liking for commercial messages. However, the psychological processes involved are only partially understood. In addition, design is inherently interdisciplinary, involving (among others) important elements of aesthetics, anthropology, brand strategy, creativity, design science, engineering, graphic design, industrial design, marketing, material science, product design, and several areas within psychology. While researchers and practitioners in all of these fields seek to learn more about how and why "good" design works its magic, they may benefit from each other's work. The chapters in this edited book bring together organizing frameworks and reviews of the relevant literatures from many of these contributing disciplines, along with recent empirical work. They cover relevant areas such as embodied cognition, processing fluency, experiential marketing, sensory marketing, visual aesthetics, and other research streams related to the impact of design on consumers. Importantly, the primary focus of these chapters is not on product design that creates functional value for the targeted consumer, but rather on how design can create the kind of emotional, experiential, hedonic, and sensory appeal that results in attracting consumers. Each chapter concludes with Implications for a theory of design as well as for designers.
Materials Experience by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780080993768Publication Date: 2013-10-24There currently exists an abundance of materials selection advice for designers suited to solving technical product requirements. In contrast, a stark gap can be found in current literature that articulates the very real personal, social, cultural and economic connections between materials and the design of the material world. In Materials Experience: Fundamentals of Materials and Design, thirty-four of the leading academicians and experts, alongside 8 professional designers, have come together for the first time to offer their expertise and insights on a number of topics common to materials and product design. The result is a very readable and varied panorama on the world of materials and product design as it currently stands. Contributions by many of the most prominent materials experts and designers in the field today, with a foreword by Mike Ashby The book is organized into 4 main themes: sustainability, user interaction, technology and selection Between chapters, you will find the results of interviews conducted with internationally known designers These 'designer perspectives' will provide a 'time out' from the academic articles, with emphasis placed on fascinating insights, product examples and visuals
Process Selection by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780080474007Publication Date: 2003-06-02The definitive practical guide to choosing the optimum manufacturing process, written for students and engineers. Process Selection provides engineers with the essential technological and economic data to guide the selection of manufacturing processes. This fully revised second edition covers a wide range of important manufacturing processes and will ensure design decisions are made to achieve optimal cost and quality objectives. Expanded and updated to include contemporary manufacturing, fabrication and assembly technologies, the book puts process selection and costing into the context of modern product development and manufacturing, based on parameters such as materials requirements, design considerations, quality and economic factors. Key features of the book include: manufacturing process information maps (PRIMAs) provide detailed information on the characteristics and capabilities of 65 processes and their variants in a standard format; process capability charts detailing the processing tolerance ranges for key material types; strategies to facilitate process selection; detailed methods for estimating costs, both at the component and assemby level. The approach enables an engineer to understand the consequences of design decisions on the technological and economic aspects of component manufacturing, fabrication and assembly. This comprehensive book provides both a definitive guide to the subject for students and an invaluable source of reference for practising engineers. Manufacturing process information maps (PRIMAs) provide detailed information on the characteristics and capabilities of 65 processes in a standard format Process capability charts detail the processing tolerance ranges for key material types Detailed methods for estimating costs, both at the component and assembly level
Flexibility in Engineering Design by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 0262303566Publication Date: 2011-08-12A guide to using the power of design flexibility to improve the performance of complex technological projects, for designers, managers, users, and analysts. Project teams can improve results by recognizing that the future is inevitably uncertain and that by creating flexible designs they can adapt to eventualities. This approach enables them to take advantage of new opportunities and avoid harmful losses. Designers of complex, long-lasting projects--such as communication networks, power plants, or hospitals--must learn to abandon fixed specifications and narrow forecasts. They need to avoid the "flaw of averages," the conceptual pitfall that traps so many designs in underperformance. Failure to allow for changing circumstances risks leaving significant value untapped. This book is a guide for creating and implementing value-enhancing flexibility in design. It will be an essential resource for all participants in the development and operation of technological systems: designers, managers, financial analysts, investors, regulators, and academics. The book provides a high-level overview of why flexibility in design is needed to deliver significantly increased value. It describes in detail methods to identify, select, and implement useful flexibility. The book is unique in that it explicitly recognizes that future outcomes are uncertain. It thus presents forecasting, analysis, and evaluation tools especially suited to this reality. Appendixes provide expanded explanations of concepts and analytic tools.
CAD and Rapid Prototyping for Product Design by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781780675701Publication Date: 2014-01-01Computer-aided design (CAD) and rapid prototyping (RP) are now a fundamental part of the professional practice of product design and are therefore essential skills for product design undergraduate students. This book provides students with all the tools needed to get to grips with the range of both CAD software and RP processes used in the industry. Presented in a visually engaging format, this book is packed with case study examples from contemporary product designers, as well as screen shots, CAD models, and images of rapid prototypes highlighting the design process. This book shows how CAD and RP software is used in product design and explains, in clear language, the similarities and differences between the different software packages and processes.
Search the Library Catalog
Borrow Books or Articles from Another Library
If we do not have a book you need, don't worry! Our Interlibrary loan service (or ILL) will allow you to borrow titles from other libraries. Follow the following steps below to sign up for this free service and to request needed titles.
- For Books: Double-check the Library CatalogBefore you request a book, double-check our catalog to be sure that we do not already own it. If we do own it, your request might be rejected.
- For Articles: Check Journal TitlesFor articles, double-check in Journal Titles to make sure that we do not have access to the title via another database or our print collection.
- WorldcatType in the name or ISBN # of any book, click on its' hyperlinked title, and then generate a citation for it in any number of formats
- Login to your Interlibrary Loan accountLogon to your interlibrary loan account with this link to:
- Check the status of your requests to borrow materials from other libraries
- Renew interlibrary loan books
- Access article requests electronically
