Finding OA Content
- UnpaywallAvailable as a browser extension, Unpaywall looks for open access versions of published articles that have a DOI.
Attribution
This page was adapted from "Open Access" by “University of Arizona Libraries, © 2024 The Arizona Board of Regents on behalf of The University of Arizona, licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
OA Repositories
- OAPENOnline library of open access peer-reviewed books.
- Directory of Open Access BooksOpen access books from academic publishers.
- University Press of Kentucky Open Access eBooks This link opens in a new windowThe University Press of Kentucky has a dual mission-the publication of books of high scholarly merit in a variety of fields for a largely academic audience and the publication of books about the history and culture of Kentucky, the Ohio Valley region, the Upper South, and Appalachia. The Press is the statewide mandated nonprofit scholarly publisher for the Commonwealth of Kentucky, operated as an agency of the University of Kentucky and serving all state institutions of higher learning, plus five private colleges and Kentucky's two major historical societies.
More than 1,000 titles are freely available to the Press's consortium partners.
- Directory of Open Access JournalsAn extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world.
- Open Access Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new windowOATD aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 600 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes over 1.5 million theses and dissertations. (website)
Pre-Print and Subject Repositories
Directory of Open Access Preprint Repositories
The Directory of Open Access Preprints Repositories (DOAPR) provides a list of preprint repositories that are available to the research community. It helps researchers and other interested parties to find the most appropriate platform for them.
Directory of Preprint Server Policies and Practices
Directory of 60+ preprint servers describing their disciplinary scope, policies, governance, licensing, archiving strategies and much more.
- AgEconAgEcon Search is a free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics, including Working papers, Conference papers, and journal articles.
- arXivFind open access resources in physics, mathematics, and computer science.
- BioRxivbioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.
- ChemRxivChemRxiv - a free online submission, distribution, and archival service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas - is operated by the American Chemical Society.
- ChoralWikiChoralWiki hosts public-domain scores of more than 22,200 choral and vocal works by 2,600-plus composers. Users may search by composer and title and can conduct broader searches using pull-down options to select specific score categories, including sacred and secular genres, voicing, and accompaniment.
- CogprintsCogPrints, an electronic archive for self-archive papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science (e.g., artificial intelligence, robotics, vison, learning, speech, neural networks), Philosophy (e.g., mind, language, knowledge, science, logic), Biology (e.g., ethology, behavioral ecology, sociobiology, behavior genetics, evolutionary theory), Medicine (e.g., Psychiatry, Neurology, human genetics, Imaging), Anthropology (e.g., primatology, cognitive ethnology, archeology, paleontology), as well as any other portions of the physical, social and mathematical sciences that are pertinent to the study of cognition.
- CORE: Open Access for the HumanitiesCORE is a full-text, interdisciplinary, non-profit social repository designed to increase the impact of work in the Humanities. CORE is an open access repository and part of the Humanities Commons (https://hcommons.org/).
- E-LISEstablished in 2003, e-LIS is an international digital repository for Library and Information Science (LIS), including Communication. It has grown thanks to a team of volunteer editors that support 22 languages.
- Earth-prints RepositoryEarth-Prints is an open archive created and maintained by Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia. This digital collection allows users to browse, search and access manuscripts, journal articles, theses, conference materials, books, book-chapters, web products. The goal of our repository is to collect, capture, disseminate and preserve the results of research in the fields of Atmosphere, Cryosphere, Hydrosphere and Solid Earth.
- EarthArXivPreprints and postprints for the Earth Sciences
- LIS Scholarship Archive (LISSA)A free, open scholarly platform for library and information science.
- MediArXivOpen Archive for Media, Film, and Communication Studies. Visit mediarxiv.com for more information.
- medRxivPreprints in the medical, clinical, and related health sciences.
- Mindscape CommonsMindscape Commons is the world’s first online resource for immersive and interactive content in mental health. It presents and documents nearly 200 VR experiences for teaching and research in counseling, social work, psychology, health sciences, and related programs. It’s also collaborative in nature, so faculty and researchers can create member profiles, upload their projects, and connect with others.
- National Bureau of Economic ResearchThe National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. The NBER is committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research in a scientific manner, and without policy recommendations, among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community.
- OSF PreprintsIf there isn’t a community-driven preprint server for your discipline, OSF Preprints is available for any discipline. All preprints submitted to OSF Preprints and community preprint services are indexed by major search engines, Google Scholar, and SHARE.
- PhilArchivePhilArchive is the largest Open Access Archive in philosophy. PhilArchive was first launched in 2009 as the PhilPapers Archive, the archive integrated into the PhilPapers bibliographic database.
- PhilSci ArchivePhilSci-Archive's goal is to preserve and foster the rapid exchange of new work in philosophy of science. PhilSci-Archive follows the same principles of openness and critical exchange that underlie pre-print archives in physics (arXiv) and biology (biorXiv). Preprints and postprints posted on the archive are restricted to those in philosophy of science or related material of interest to professional philosophers of science.
- PsyArXivA free preprint service for the psychological sciences, maintained by The Society for the Improvement of Psychological Science.
- RePEc (Research Papers in Economics)RePEc is a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 79 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in Economics and related sciences. The heart of the project is a decentralized bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, books, books chapters and software components, all maintained by volunteers.
- SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS)The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a digital library portal for researchers in astronomy and physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 13 million records covering publications in Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and the arXiv e-prints. Abstracts and full-text of major astronomy and physics publications are indexed and searchable.
- SocArXivSocArXiv -- the open access, open source archive of social science -- was created in partnership with the Center for Open Science. SocArXiv provides a free, noncommercial service for rapid sharing of academic papers; it is built on the Open Science Framework, a platform for researchers to upload data and code as well as research results.
- Social Science Research Network (SSRN)SSRN is an open-access online pre-print community providing valuable services to leading academic schools and government institutions. Specializing primarily in social sciences, including economics, law, corporate governance, and humanities, SSRN has branched out into other science disciplines providing opportunities for scholars to post their early research, collaborate on theories and discoveries, and get credit for their ideas before peer reviewed publication.
- TechRxivOpen, moderated preprint server for unpublished research in electrical engineering, computer science, and related technology.
Data Repositories
- Dataverse ProjectDataverse is an open source web application to share, preserve, cite, explore, and analyze research data.
- DryadDryad is a nonprofit repository for data underlying the international scientific and medical literature.
- FigshareFigshare is a repository where users can make their research outputs available in a citable, shareable, and discoverable manner.
- Open Science Framework (OSF)Developed by the Center for Open Science , OSF is a data repository and cloud-based management platform for your projects. Learn more through the Open Science Framework @ UofA
- ZenodoA general purpose open access repository developed under the European OpenAIRE program and operated by CERN.
