Media Coverage of Special Collections and Archives
2024
BC News feature story on Friday Finds and Special Collections and Archives
Posted February 23, 2024
“Friday Finds” offers public an up-close look at the Saint John’s Bible
Richmond Register article published February 7, 2024
2023
Music Icon Janis Ian Chose Berea College for Her Archives Due to Their Shared Values
Published November 28, 2023
Discover the Poetry and Art of Puerto Rico with Friday Finds
Richmond Register article published September 16, 2023.
Spotlight on Berea: Historic artifacts tell story of Berea College
WLEX-TV, Lexington, Kentucky, September 11, 2023
How Janis Ian’s ‘life’ came to Berea College
Kentucky Lantern article by Jacalyn Carfagno, published April 5, 2023.
UK arts administration students visit Berea Archives to study records from Grammy Award-winning musician
finearts.uky.edu article by Joy Chou posted March 8, 2023.
Janis Ian's "Life's Work" Preserved at Berea College
dailykoz.com article by Wes Morgan posted February 24, 2023.
Iconic singer donates her ‘life’s work’ to Berea College
Marvin Bartlett's "Spirit of the Bluegrass" segment about Berea College receiving the archives of Janis Ian aired on WDKY-TV in February, 2023.
Carter G Woodson Writings on Friday Finds at Berea College
RichmondRegister.com's Feb. 10, 2023 Priority Report was a visit to the Berea College Special Collections and Archives to view and discuss holdings on Berea College graduate (Class of 1903) Dr. Carter G. Woodson.
Berea College celebrates the 'Father of Black History'
WLEX-TV's 2023 celebration of Black History Month included a visit to Berea College's Carter G. Woodson Center and the Special Collections and Archives. (February 2023)
Berea College library offering historical look at Dr. Carter G. Woodson
Richmond Register article published January 31, 2023.
Grammy award winner donates archives to Berea College
Richmond Register article published January 6, 2023.
2022
Singer Janis Ian donates personal archives to Berea College
Lexington Herald Leader article published November 3, 2022. (Subscription required.)
Berea College Hutchins Library offers public look at the Saint John’s Bible
Richmond Register article published October 8, 2022.
Berea College library offering historical look at the art of quilting
Richmond Register article published October 4, 2022.
Historical Cookbook Collection: More Than Recipes
Kentucky Monthly article by Deborah Kohl Kremer published February 28, 2022.
Berea College continues 'Friday Finds' program to explore archives
Berea College has recently started a program inviting members of the community to explore a different piece of the library's archives on Friday afternoons. (Aired on WLEX-TV February 9, 2022)
2021
WKYT-TV interview: "Peruse the Cookbooks" Tours
Tim Binkley shares about Friday afternoon group tours of the historic and regional cookbooks that are available for study in the Berea College Special Collections. (Aired November 4, 2021)
2020
Education Notebook: Berea Faculty and Staff recognized by Madison County Historical Society
Richmond Register article published November 4, 2020.
Education Notebook: Berea Faculty and Staff recognized by Madison County Historical Society. Register Staff Report; Nov 4, 2020; Nov 4, 2020.
