Primary Sources
The American Slave by Call Number: 301.451 A512Publication Date: 1972-10-20Vol. 2-17 consist of transcriptions of narratives prepared by the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-38, and deposited in the Library of Congress, where they were assembled under title: Slave narratives, a folk history of slavery in the United States from interviews with former slaves. (From catalog)
- Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice This link opens in a new windowThis resource is designed as an important portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is being given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today. (publisher's website)
- Black Freedom Struggle in the United States This link opens in a new windowBlack Freedom Struggle is an open access database featuring select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. This website contains over 3,000 documents focused on six different phases of Black Freedom: Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860), The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877), The Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932), The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945), The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975), and The Contemporary Era (1976-2000).
- New York Times (1851-2013) This link opens in a new windowThe New York Times is considered the United States newspaper of record for the late 19th and the 20th century. Historical advertisements and images are also included in this database. The New York Times (1851-2010) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- New York Times (1980 - Current) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive digital coverage back to 1980 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper through the ProQuest database. The complete text of recent articles is provided in the ASCII format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format. The New York Times is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches, and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history.
- Early American Imprints, Series 1: Evans, 1639-1800 This link opens in a new windowSearchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera enable researchers to explore America's distant and not so distant past. Available here: Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800.
- Northeast Slavery Records Index (NESRI)NESRI provides primary source material from the Northeastern United States, an area traditionally not associated with slavery. It provides searchable indexes census records, slave trade transactions, cemetery records, birth certifications, manumissions, ship inventories, newspaper accounts, private narratives, legal documents and many other sources. (from Website)
- Slave Societies Digital ArchiveSlave Societies Digital Archive is dedicated to the preservation and free dissemination of endangered records documenting the history of Africans and their descendants across the Atlantic World. the focus is on Florida, Cuba, Mexico, Brazil and Columbia.
- Civil Rights Digital Library"The CRDL advances cross-disciplinary approaches, promoting a seamless infrastructure for learning, emphasizing context and structure for digital information, and recruiting and educating new leaders for a learning society. " This website is part of Digital Library of Georgia.
- Behind the VeilFrom Duke University "this documentary project was to record and preserve the living memory of African American life in the American South during the age of legal segregation and its immediate aftermath, from the 1890s to the 1970s." from website
