Recommended Websites
- BlackPast.orgBlackPast.org is directed toward multiple audiences ranging from scholars and researchers to the general public. We invite you to explore our comprehensive resources and knowledge base. All of the information on this website is copyrighted but you are free to access it with our permission. Any information from this site that is posted or published elsewhere must be cleared by the BlackPast.org management and credited to Blackpast.org.
- Notable Kentucky African Americans Database"The Notable Kentucky African Americans Database (NKAA) has been developed as a finding aid to bring together a brief description of pertinent names, places, and events, and to list the sources where additional information may be found. This is not currently an all inclusive database, but we are working toward that goal and suggestions are welcomed. "
- Umbra Search: African American History"Umbrasearch.org brings together more than 500,000 digitized materials from over 1,000 libraries and archives across the country. Umbra Search celebrates the vital efforts of the individuals and institutions that have helped to preserve and make accessible online hundreds of thousands of pieces of African American history and culture, and we pay homage to the Umbra Society of the early 1960s, a renegade group of Black writers and poets who helped create the Black Arts Movement."
- Who Speaks for the NegroTranscripts and audio recordings of interviews Robert Penn Warren used as the basis of his 1965 book, of the same title. Interviewees include well known leaders such as Martin Luther King Jr along with lesser known individuals. This is an excellent primary resource.
- Slavery and Abolition in the US: Select Publications of the 1800sPublic domain documents form Millersville University Library and the Dickinson College Library in Pennsylvania. The collection of some 24,000 pages consists of 67 books and 59 pamphlets selected based on their value to scholars, rarity and the need to preserve their content.
- Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database (1662-1873)The SlaveVoyages website is a collaborative digital initiative that compiles and makes publicly accessible records of the largest slave trades in history. Search these records to learn about the broad origins and forced relocations of more than 12 million African people who were sent across the Atlantic in slave ships, and hundreds of thousands more who were trafficked within the Americas. Explore where they were taken, the numerous rebellions that occurred, the horrific loss of life during the voyages, the identities and nationalities of the perpetrators, and much more. from website
- Freedom and Slavery in Appalahian AmericaBerea College alumni Carter G. Woodson penned this document in 1916.
- African WomenAfrican Studies Centre Leiden (ASCL), Leiden, The Netherlands hosts this database. More than 5400 publications have a link to online full text now, and more than 4500 publications have got an abstract. Almost 5800 publications have subjects from the African Studies Thesaurus developed and maintained by the ASCL. The African Studies Thesaurus contains a rich structured vocabulary of more than 13000 English terms in the field of African studies.
African American Studies in the News
Evaluating Websites with the CRAAP Criteria
