Why Use Encyclopedias?
Background sources like encyclopedias can provide context for your topic, or even help you choose one. They are great places to start because:
- they explain topics in simpler language than scholarly articles
- they are much shorter (often just a just a page or two, instead of the 20 pages or more found in a scholarly article or the hundreds of pages found in a book)
- they highlight important issues, figures, dates, and/or events that you may want to focus on in your paper or project
- they give you suggested sources for further research in the form of bibliographies or works cited
Africa Reference
New Encyclopedia of Africa by Call Number: R 960.03 N532 2008Publication Date: 2007-10-08Addresses the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries, some of them newly emergent in world commerce and others deep in conflict. Covers issues facing the continent such as global development, the AIDS crisis, and international terrorism.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought by Call Number: R 960.03 O984 2010Publication Date: 2010-04-27Starting with St. Augustine this encyclopedia offers a comprehensive view of African thought from the African continent to the African Diaspora in the Americas and Europe. The Encyclopedia is a large-scale work of 350 entries organized A to Z with bibliographies, cross referencing and an index.
African Kingdoms by Call Number: R 960.03 A258 2017Publication Date: 2017-08-24This encyclopedia covers the history of African kingdoms before 1880. It has 90 plus articles arranged in an A to Z format with entry level bibliographies and general bibliography, along with a timeline. Some primary documents are included.
The A to Z of Pre-Colonial Africa by Call Number: R 960.2 C712a 2010Publication Date: 2010-04-27According to the publisher “The A to Z of Pre-Colonial Africa seeks to familiarize the reader with pre-colonial Africa, the Africa that began with the migrations of the Bantu from their homeland in 500 B.C. and ended with European control in the 19th century, revealing the culture, events, achievement and rulers of Africa from this time.” The volume offers a timeline and has excellent One of this work’s greatest value is its extensive bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of African History and Culture by Call Number: R 960.03 E563 2006ISBN: 9780816051991Publication Date: 2005-04-30A comprehensive encyclopedia on African history with broad cultural and geographic coverage. This set covers African history from ancient times to the present. Volumes are cross referenced, have a chronology, glossary, maps, suggested readings, and are indexed. Each volume is organized in an A to Z format. With a focuses on general readers, this set should consult early in your research.
Encyclopedia of African Religion by Call Number: R 299.603 E563 2009Publication Date: 2008-11-26"“… The Encyclopedia of African Religion explores such topics as deities and divinities, the nature of humanity, the end of life, the conquest of fear, and the quest for attainment of harmony with nature and other humans. “The two-volume set offers almost 500 entries with bibliographies and cross referencing. It is aimed at undergraduates.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by Call Number: R 780.9 G233 v.1Publication Date: 1997-08-01While this award-winning reference work examines key themes in African music, it does not neglect entries on regional African music. Associated performing arts are also included. The volume has a glossary, guides to African music publications and recordings along with an extensive index. There is a companion CD CD-Music 780.9 G233cd. Start your research on African music here.
Africa by Call Number: R 960 B251a 2008ISBN: 9780520259744Publication Date: 2009-08-05“ Africa tells its story through hundreds of breathtaking full-color, full-page images of people, landscapes, artworks, and artifacts accompanied by extended explanatory captions, relevant quotations, and concise overviews of topics such as art, religion, colonialism, slavery, and popular culture”
Historical Dictionary of Civil Wars in Africa by Call Number: R 960 A754h 2008Publication Date: 2007-11-19“The second edition of the Historical Dictionary of Civil Wars in Africa covers all of the wars that have occurred in Africa since independence. This is done through a chronology broken down by country, a list of acronyms and abbreviations, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and cross-referenced dictionary entries covering the wars, conflicts, major political and military figures, child soldiers, mercenaries, and blood diamonds.”
African American Reference
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History by Call Number: 973.049 E5625 2006ISBN: 9780028658162Publication Date: 2005-12-16Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History is a publication of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. This set identifies and addresses broad themes critical to understanding the texture of the cultures, achievements, challenges and comprise North America, Central and South America and the Caribbean.
Africana by Call Number: R 960.03 A258 2005Africana has been completely updated and revised. More than 4,000 articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religion, ethnic groups, organizations and countries on both sides of the Atlantic. African American history and culture in the present-day United States receive a strong emphasis, but African American history and culture throughout the rest of the Americas and their origins in African itself have an equally strong presence.
African American National Biography by Call Number: R 920.009 A2585 2008This eight-volume set containing over 4,000 signed entries providing an unofficial national biography of African Americans. It offers a wide range of African Americans from all time periods and all walks of life, both famous and nearly-forgotten. Unlike many encyclopedias it contains both contemporary and historical figures. Consult this resource early in your research!
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 by Call Number: R 973.049 E5627 2006The Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 documents the full range of the African American experience during that period - from the arrival of the first slave ship to the death of Frederick Douglass. The encyclopedia uses an A to Z format. A topical outline, chronology of major events, nearly 300 black and white illustrations, and comprehensive index further enhance the work's usefulness.
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present by Call Number: R 973.049 E5628 2009This five volume reference work covers the period from the 1896 "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period. The Encyclopedia contains approximately 1,200 entries, including some 649 biographies and 500 images. A good starting point.
The Underground Railroad by Call Number: R 973.711 S673u 2008Publication Date: 2008-05-15"The Underground Railroad: An Encyclopedia of People, Places, and Operations" explores the people, places, writings, laws, and organizations that made this network possible. More than 1,500 entries detail the families and personalities involved in the operation, and sidebars extract primary source materials for longer entries. Supporting materials including maps with actual Underground Railroad escape routes, photos, a chronology, genealogies of those involved in the operation, a listing of Underground Railroad operatives by state or Canadian province, a "passenger" list of escaping slaves, and primary and secondary source bibliographies.
The Martin Luther King, Jr. , Encyclopedia by Call Number: R 323.092 M381 2008Publication Date: 2008-01-30The encyclopedia provides readers with over 280 entries that offer fresh and engaging insights into Dr. King and the civil rights movement
The Frederick Douglass Encyclopedia by Call Number: R 973.809 F852 2010Publication Date: 2009-12-09The Frederick Douglass Encyclopedia offers more than 100 alphabetically organized entries covering Douglass's extraordinary journey from childhood in bondage to forceful spokesperson for equality and freedom before, during, and after the Civil War. In addition to biographical details, the book looks at the full breadth of Douglass's writings and speeches, as well as the events that shaped his intellect and political views.
W. E. B. du Bois by Call Number: R 973.809 D816 2001Publication Date: 2001-05-30This encyclopedia covers Du Bois long and productive life, 1868 to 1965. Entries provide suggested readings, cross refencing, a chronology along with a general bibliography and index. Editor Mary Young was Director of Black Studies at Berea College.
African Americans by the Numbers by Call Number: R 305.896 S795a 2017Publication Date: 2017-07-14"This statistical guide presents extensive demographics on African Americans, breaks down the hard numbers, explains what the statistics indicate about the socioeconomic condition of African American life, and places this information into historical and contemporary context. This book also provides detailed comparisons of African Americans to other races and ethnic groups. "
Black Stats by Publication Date: 2014-01-28"Black Stats is a compact and useful guide that offers up-to-date figures on Black life in the United States today, avoiding jargon and assumptions and providing critical analyses and information. An essential tool for advocates, educators, and anyone seeking racial justice." From publisher's summary.
African American Religious Cultures [2 Volumes] by Call Number: 200.899 A2575 2009Publication Date: 2009-09-10With 80 plus A to Z organized entries this two volume set examines the history, theology, worship and important figures in African American culture and major. The work is not limited to Christian groups. Entries include a selected bibliography. There are sidebars dedicated to important figures.
Encyclopedia of African American Music by Call Number: R 780.899 E563 2011Publication Date: 2010-12-17This three volume set, with 500 plus entries, attempts to cover all aspects of African American music. Think Concert Music, Jazz, Motown, Harlem Renaissance, the Black Arts Movement, the Civil Rights Movement, just to name a few. Entries provide suggest readings and the work has cross referencing. There is a timeline, appendices, and an index. An excellent starting place. .
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology by Call Number: R 155.82 E564 2006Publication Date: 2006-08-18The Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology is an excellent resource for those interested in improving their awareness and comprehension of cultural practices prevalent among and between all people. Encyclopedia has entry level bibliographies, cross referencing, and an index.
The Harvard Guide to African-American History by Call Number: R 973.049 H339Publication Date: 2001-06-25This Harvard Guide examines the African American experience for the past 400 years. Beyond its 12 essays, the book makes more than 15,000 bibliography entries available to the diligent researcher.
