It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Berea Sound Archives: Browse Collection Finding Aids
Berea's non-commercial audio and video collections document Appalachian history and culture, and the history of Berea College. They are especially strong in the areas of traditional music, religious expression, spoken lore, radio programs, oral history, and College events and personalities. These collections include field recordings from homes and churches, local and regional folk festivals, student performances, presentations of notable scholars, preachers, and social activists who have visited Berea.
Research guides are the work of Archives staff and the College's Sound Archives Fellows. Using audio and video illustrations, the guides cover a wide range of topics. Finding Aids provide information and a complete list of collection materials. Many finding aids include links to digitized audio and video content.
From 2005-2016, the Sound Archives Fellowship program supported both the scholarly use of Berea's non-commercial audio / video collections and the conducting of cultural documentation projects that produced new material for future research use.
These collections contain audio and / or video content available in the Berea Sound Archives or the Digital Archives (Berea College). Click on the collection title for more information, a complete list of collection materials, and links to the digitized content.