The Kentucky banjo music preserved in the Berea Sound Archives is largely in the form of festival performances such as those from Berea’s Celebration of Traditional Music and field recordings made by such musician-researchers as Bruce Greene, Steve Green, John Harrod, Barbara Kunkle, Steve Rice, and Jeff Titon.
In the list below, click on the county name for banjo performances available in the Berea Sound Archive.
Thirty-nine of Kentucky’s 120 counties (in red) are represented thus far.
Related Berea Sound Archives Sites
- Traditional Music and Spoken Word Performances This link opens in a new windowListen to selected musical performances and storytelling from the Berea Sound Archives.
- Alan Lomax Kentucky CollectionListen to ocumentary sound recordings of rural Kentucky music and lore collected under the auspices of the Archive of American Folk Song at the Library of Congress between 1933 and 1942.
- Oral History Collections GuideBerea's online oral history collections cover a broad range of topics in the areas of Appalachian history and culture, and the history of Berea College. In many instances searchable transcripts accompany the digitized audio recordings.
- Examples of Oral Histories For Use As Primary SourcesSelected interview texts and recordings covering a wide range of topics.
- Sound Recording Analysis WorksheetA teaching / learning resource from the National Archives.
- Sound Archives Research GuidesResearch guides are the work of Archives staff and the College's Sound Archives Fellows. Using audio and video illustrations, the guides cover a wide range of topics.
- Sound Preservation ProgramThe program's focus is on Berea's collections of noncommercial recordings that document Appalachian history and culture and the history of Berea College.
- Berea Sound Archives HomepageBrowse By Topic
Contact the Berea Sound Archives
- Adair
- Allen
- Anderson
- Ballard
- Barren
- Bath
- Bell
- Boone
- Bourbon
- Boyd
- Boyle
- Bracken
- Breathitt
- Breckinridge
- Bullitt
- Butler
- Caldwell
- Calloway
- Campbell
- Carlisle
- Carroll
- Carter
- Casey
- Christian
- Clark
- Clay
- Clinton
- Crittenden
- Cumberland
- Daviess
- Edmonson
- Elliott
- Estill
- Fayette
- Fleming
- Floyd
- Franklin
- Fulton
- Gallatin
- Garrard
